cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Established Member

Temporarily using my computer to access my brothers' quickbooks data

I have a current version of desktop Pro. I do Not have payroll.
My brother has a current version of desktop Pro. He Does have payroll.
I have copied his datafile to my computer so we can run numerous ad hoc reports.
BUT, when I start to open his data, a message pops up saying Intuit is going online to check the status of my payroll service, which I do not have. There is no option to go back or skip this.
I repeat, I do not use payroll, the datafile I need to look at does.
What would happen if I go forward? Will I suddenly be locked out of my Quickbooks?

Thanks,

Ron

1 Comment
Established Community Backer ***

Re: Temporarily using my computer to access my brothers' quickbooks data

Payroll is attached to the company file not the software. It probably just senses it is being loaded on a different machine.  Similar status check happens anytime you upgrade software or move to a new computer and even happens just because of a software update.

 

Most important thing you need to know, if one of you experiences a QB software update and opens the other's data file it will be updated and no longer can be opened by the older revision. So check your revisions (find the info by clicking F2 when in QB). More than enough reason to always transfer these company files by using backup and restore, not just move and open.