cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Community Contributor *

Beginner to QB - banking -> Expenses

Hello, 

I am VERY new to QB and I am trying to learn the program. 

1. Is it required that I import my bank transactions into QB and then filter through them as I enter them into the expenses?  What is the purpose of this?

2. When I reconcile - does the previous step NEED to be completed?  When I reconcile, I am just ensuring that all the transactions in QB balance to my bank account/credit card correct? Would this been the time to ensure that I have all receipts for each transaction?

3. Do you have any guides or sources you can recommend for very new people trying to understand and get to know QB? 

Thank you! 

3 Comments
QuickBooks Team

Re: Beginner to QB - banking -> Expenses

Hi there,

Welcome to the QuickBooks family.

You've reached the right place to ask for help. I'd be happy to assist you with any QuickBooks questions. Smiley Happy 

It's not required for you to filter the bank transactions, but I'd recommend filtering them so that QuickBooks knows which is which when a similar transaction is automatically added the next time. This allows your transaction filtering process to be automated saving you from having to filter each individual transaction that comes in.  I encourage to check out this article from our Community https://quickbooks.intuit.com/community/Banking/Add-and-match-downloaded-banking-transactions/m-p/26.... The article will go over how to add, edit and match bank transactions. 

When you say previous step, could elaborate on what you mean by that? For reconciliation, I suggest checking out this article https://quickbooks.intuit.com/community/Banking-and-bank-feeds/Reconcile-hub/m-p/186429. Let me know if you've got questions.

Here are some helpful tutorials on how to use QBO https://quickbooks.intuit.com/ca/how-it-works/. Feel free to ask any questions. 

Established Community Backer ***