cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Frequent Explorer *

How do I re-classify imported transactions from my credit card account so they are not associated with the credit card account anymore?

I'm just getting started with QuickBooks Online, and I'm trying to document all year-to-date expenses, which have all been paid for through my personal credit card. (I've just set up business checking and credit card accounts and will use those going forward.) I've imported the expenses,  selected the correct "Category" for each, and uploaded all of the associated receipts. I'd like to associate each transaction with the accounts in the Charts of Accounts, rather than with the credit card. How do I do that?
6 Comments
Frequent Explorer *

Re: How do I re-classify imported transactions from my credit card account so they are not associated with the credit card account anymore?

A little more information... I'm actually fine with them all being listed under the personal credit card account (which is no longer linked to QuickBooks, so it will not register any new transactions). However, the credit card account shows a positive balance (which I'm assuming relates to the credit card payments I made), and I want it to be a negative balance, so that the expenses are just expenses for the business. However, I cannot find the specific transactions that are causing the positive balance. 

QuickBooks Team

Re: How do I re-classify imported transactions from my credit card account so they are not associ...

Thanks for providing on-point details about your concern, @InfoDevPro

I'll share some insight about the positive balance on your credit card account. 

Credit card is a balance sheet account so expenses will increase its balance. The more you create expenses on the account, the more positive balance will be. To help make it a negative balance, you can use the Credit Card Credit feature. Here's how: 

1. Go to the Plus (+) icon at the upper right.