cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Community Contributor *

Novice needs to know best way to obtain help at this web site

2-15-19

I am a rank novice at QuickBooks despite using it for many years, mostly for highly unsophisticated tasks. I have now needed to visit and seek help at this web site a few times in the past few days. As has been my experience when I needed to do so once or twice in years past, the responses to my questions have been prompt, unfailingly supportive, and completely free of condescension. I don't mind that occasionally I receive advice that differs non-trivially among different responders to the same question; I suspect there usually is more than one way to skin the cat at issue. But I do have the following questions about obtaining help from the QB Community:

1. What is the best and most direct way to ask the Community a question? The only way I have been able to do so up to now is the way I have done this morning: Go to this START a DISCUSSION heading and enter a "title" as such in the box below "What do you want to talk about?"-- Is this the typical route most members use to ask a question? Is there any other location on this web site or related sites where one can enter a QB question? Is there a better way than I have used?

2. What is the best was to find written responses and comments to a question one has submitted previously? I have received direct responses to my e-mail address, which is optimal, but occasionally I am notified that one or more individuals have commented at the site on something I asked. The suggestion appears that I read their comments. Clicking on that suggestion yielded no useful response this morning or yesterday.