cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
texasdoc
Level 1

Which software do I need

I am a physician.  I am paid a daily rate via 1099. My business is set up as "Professional Association" in Texas (essentially an LLC for a physician) and for tax purposes I am classified as an S-Corp (with one employee--myself).  I am switching jobs from a company that did most of the back end accounting stuff (general accounting, payroll, logging business expenses, etc) on my behalf to now a completely independent entity.  

I am trying to figure out which Quickbooks software I would need to keep track of accounting, business expenses, retirement/solo 401k, HSA, health insurance, and year end statements (Profit & Loss, Balance Sheet, General Ledger).  I would prefer to pay one price up front (vs subscription fees) and primarily use MAC (but have access to PC). 

I also may need payroll software since I pay myself a W-2 employee salary and K-1 distributions and would be processing my own payroll (trying to decide if I should use software for this to do it myself or just farm it out to an inexpensive payroll company--quickbooks payroll software packages seem more expensive from a monthly payment standpoint--the payroll company I used with my old job charged me $50-55/month for service).

I use Turbotax Business to do my corporate tax report (thus, Turbotax could create a W-2 and K-1 at the end of the year for me?).

I feel that this is hopefully a pretty easy setup, but I just don't have any idea about where to start doing all of this accounting/payroll on my own.

Thanks in advance for your responses and if you need any info for clarification, please let me know.

2 Comments 2
Anonymous
Not applicable

Which software do I need

hi @ texasdoc ,

Frankly I don't familiar with your specific needs. But I believe you should consider to use QuickBooks 2019 for Mac. Intuit provides the trial license as well.