cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
AudreyPratt
Level 7

Learning to Say "Yes" to New Business Opportunities. Meet Husband and Wife Duo Nate and Erin Moren

erin_moren_1.jpg

Husband and wife duo Nate and Erin Moren have been on the same track since they met at college. Now, with their company Tandem Made, they've combined business with pleasure to make high-quality, bespoke furniture, jewelry and home accessories that blend function with style. 

Erin loves the excitement of producing unique items for equally unique clients, so we chatted with her to learn more about what their day-to-day is like, how they price their products and what areas she's hoping to master next as a successful small business owner.

erin_circle.jpeg

Name: Erin Moren

Business: Tandem Made

Started: 2011

How did you create your awesome job?

I have a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree with a focus on furniture design from Minneapolis College of Art and Design (MCAD). That’s where, in the woodshop, I met my husband and now business partner, Nate, who was in the same courses.

We started  Tandem Made just after we relocated back to Minneapolis from Chicago, where Nate worked as a metal fabricator and I was studying Arts Management in graduate school. 

We’ve always been focused on producing amazing individual furniture pieces and we’ve tried hard to listen to our environment and sculpt our designs to reflect our clients’ wishes. At first, that meant getting to know people and doing anything that came our way. But, as we’ve grown, we’ve been able to put our energy into creating one-of-a-kind pieces of furniture alongside a range of off-the-shelf home goods and accessories.

Who was your very first customer?

Our first customers were my Mom and Dad!