cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Intuit

Fix Company File in use, Feature in use, Another user doing XXX, or Transaction in use errors

Find out how to resolve common locked messages that you get when opening or working in  your company file.

When you receive one of these messages, press OK and you should be able to continue to work.

  • The automatic entry of XXX is being skipped because (USER) is accessing them.
  • Only one user at a time is allowed to do XXX.
  • Sorry you cannot change this XXX now. (USER) is currently doing a task that uses that in this transaction.
  • Company File in use. Please wait.
  • Another QuickBooks user is currently performing a task which must finish before you can continue.

You can also try the following steps:

If the message is either 'Waiting for company file' or 'Company File in Use - Please Wait'

These messages usually indicate performance issues on the server/workstation due to system requirements not being met, network issues, database issues, conflicting programs, etc. You can refer to the following articles for help:

If the message is observed on several workstations

  1. Check for multiple host computers and stop hosting on all workstations:
    1. Open QuickBooks.
    2. From the File menu, choose Utilities.
      1. If Stop Hosting Multi-User Access appears on the menu, select it and click Yes to confirm.
      2. If Host Multi-User Access appears on the menu, stop and proceed to the next step.
    3. Close QuickBooks.
    4. Repeat steps a through c on all workstations that do not host the company data file.
    5. Open QuickBooks and try performing the operation that caused the error. If it completes successfully, the issue is resolved.
  2. Stop and restart QuickBooks services on the server:
    1. Go to the server and ensure that all workstations have QuickBooks closed.
    2. Click the Start menu and select Run.
    3. In the Open field, enter services.msc then click OK.
    4. Select QuickBooksDBXX from the Name column and click the Stop link in the upper left corner. Note that this will end all user access to the company file.
      • QuickBooksDB28 = QuickBooks 2018
      • QuickBooksDB27 = QuickBooks 2017
      • QuickBooksDB26 = QuickBooks 2016
    5. Click the Start link. This will allow users to access the company file when they log.
  3. Reinstall QuickBooks on the Server using the clean install utility.

If the message persists on only one workstation

If the message persists and is only observed on one workstation or the message consistently references one specific user:

  1. Have the user referenced in the message close and reopen QuickBooks.
  2. On another workstation, click Company > Users > View Users.
  3. Ensure that the user referenced in the message has logged off.
  4. If the user referenced in the message still shows as logged on, see Locked messages: Company File In Use, Feature in use, Another user doing XXX, or Transaction in use .
  5. If the message reappears:
    1. From the Company menu, click Users> Set up Users and Roles.
    2. In the Users and Roles window, click New. In the User Name field, add a name. If you choose, you can add and confirm a password.
    3. From the Roles window, select a role, click Add then OK.
    4. Click Close in the Users and Roles window if the assigned role needs no additional modification.
    5. To edit or modify the role for the new user:
      1. In the Users and Roles window, click the Role List tab.
      2. From the Roles area, select the role then click Edit.
      3. Add or reassign permissions as needed then click OK.
      4. In the Users and Roles window, click Close.
    6. Log out of QuickBooks and log back in as the newly created user.
      1. Test the user's access to ensure it is set up as desired.
      2. Ensure that the message does not reappear for this user.
    7. Create and use a new Windows Administrator user.