cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Intuit

Merge accounts, customers or vendors

In QuickBooks Online, you can easily merge accounts, customers, or vendors. This is helpful if you want to have a single representation in your Chart of Accounts or in your financial reports. Take note that the process of merging deletes one account, customer, or vendor and reassigns all its data to the other.


Important: The merging process is not reversible. It is permanent and cannot be undone at a later point.


Merging Accounts

Merging Accounts Limitations

    • Some accounts cannot be changed or cannot be merged into an existing account because of their Type. The Uncategorized Asset is one example of this kind of account. If a user, who has Online Banking, tries to change the Type to a different one, this warning will appear:"Please correct the following errors: You can't change the type of this account because it is reserved for the Online Banking feature."Don't worry! A message will appear to notify you of the restriction and its reason.
    • There are also other accounts that you cannot delete or merge because they are needed by the system. Here is a list of those accounts:
      Opening Balance Equity Default Service Tax accounts
      Retained Earnings Default GST/VAT accounts
      Undeposited Funds Default PAYG/PAYE accounts
      Uncategorized Income Default CST accounts
      Uncategorized Expense Default Service Income account
      TDS Payable Default tax accounts created when a Custom Tax Agency is created
      TDS Receivable
    • If one of the accounts you are merging has a symbol in the name, an error message will appear during the process. Remove the symbol and retry merging.
    • IMPORTANT: If you are merging bank accounts that have reconciliation reports, the reports will be deleted from the account that has been merged but the reconcile status (R) will remain on the merged transactions.
To avoid data loss, we highly recommend saving reconciled reports before merging.

To merge two similar accounts:

  1. Select the Gear icon at the top.
  2. Under Your Company, choose Chart of Accounts.
  3. Go to the account you want to keep and select Edit from the drop-down in the ACTION column.
  4. Take note of the Name and Detail Type, and check if the Is sub-account option is marked. If it is marked, remember the parent account associated.
  5. Select Cancel to return to the Chart of Accounts.
  6. Go to the account which you don't want to use and select Edit from the drop-down in the ACTION column.
  7. Change the Name and Detail Type, and mark Is sub-account as appropriate. Remember the following regarding the Is sub-account option:
    • You won't be able to merge parent accounts that has existing sub-accounts.
    • If you are merging sub-accounts, make sure they are associated with the same parent account.
    • If only one is a sub-account, make it a parent account by deselecting the Is sub-account option.
  8. Select Save then choose Yes to confirm that you want to merge the two accounts.

Note: The "losing" account will continue to show "Deleted" until QuickBooks Online's nightly processing removes them.


When merging customers and vendors, all the information from the "losing" name will disappear.
Make sure you copy all the important information over to the name you're going to keep.


Merging Customers

  1. From the left menu, select Sales then Customers.
  2. Select the name of the customer you don’t want to use, then choose Edit at the top right.
    Note: Make sure that the customers you want to merge are at the same sub-level. You can mark the Is sub-customer box as appropriate.
  3. Change the Title, First name, Middle name, Last name, and Suffix to make it identical to the customer you're merging it with. Ensure that the Display Name is also the same.
  4. Select Save then choose Yes to confirm that you want to merge the two customers.

Merging Vendors

  1. From the left menu, select Expenses then Vendors.
  2. Select the name of the vendor you don't want to use, then choose Edit at the top right.
  3. Change the Title, First name, Middle name, Last name, and Suffix to make it identical to the vendor you're merging it with. Ensure that the Display Name is also the same.
  4. Select Save then choose Yes to confirm that you want to merge the two customers.