cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Frequent Explorer *

Unapplied Credit Note

Hi All

I am new to the latest Quickbooks and I am struggling applying credit notes. What does this mean? Here is my problem. I have received a payment for 10 Invoices and 1 Credit Note. How do I match these items? Do I have to apply the credit note to one of the invoices? I just want to keep it as clean as possible so I can understand going forward. With the old system (Quickbooks Pro) I could pick up the credit notes in a seperate tab.

Could someone help me with the best way forward?

3 REPLIES 3
QuickBooks Team

Re: Unapplied Credit Note

Hello there, Matt42.

Thanks for being part of the QuickBooks family. I’m here to provide some information on how to use the credit note.

Congratulations on your new QuickBooks version. The credit note can be issued to track sale, payment, return an item, as a refund or retained in your customer account, and etc.

The process also depends on how you want to apply it to the invoice. Here's how to create the transaction.

1. At the top menu bar, select Customers.
  2. Choose to Create Credit Notes/Refunds.
  3. Click on the drop-down for Customer: Job, and select the customer you’re working on.
  4. In the Item column, enter the returned items.
  5. Choose Save & Close.
    cr.png
  6. Once the Available Credit window opens, choose how you want to use the credit note.
    *Retain as an available credit - QuickBooks enters a negative amount in your A/R register for the credit note and uses this credit as payment for another transaction.
    *Give a refund - You can issue the refund as cash, a cheque, or a card refund.
    *Apply to an invoice – This will open the Apply Credit to Invoices window where you can select an invoice to which you want to apply for this credit.
    cr2.png
  7. Click OK.

Please know you can apply the credit to invoices as long as it does not exceed the amount.

cr3.pngcr4.png