Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ggoodman
Level 1

Inexperienced novice needs to enter an Adjustment to Reconciliation

2-13-19

Ladies and Gentlemen:

I run QuickBooks Accountant 2018 desktop although I am not an accountant. (I purchased QB Accountant in the past solely because it offered the Batch Enter Transactions feature, a component I use only occasionally but, when I need it, is indispensable-- at the time I first began using QB Accountant the feature was not available in the ordinary QB Desktop software. Don't know if that's changed.) I do use the services of an accountant, who relies on me to compile reports like Trial Balance and P&L etc. from my software. What I'm trying to say is that I'm a novice, totally unsophisticated in accounting and in the use of more than the simplest aspects of QuickBooks.

I find myself with the need to enter an Adjustment to Reconciliation, something I have not previously done. Unfortunately I have not reconciled the books of my one-man medical practice for two years. The last time I did so I was aware of a discrepancy in the reconciliation for approximately $50.00. I ran a Reconciliation Discrepancy report and discovered that the discrepancy appeared to take place because of an improperly deleted amount all the way back in 2013. It seems to me now wiser to enter an Adjustment for this small amount and begin reconciling onward from there (that would be early 2017) rather than to try to undo the error from six years ago. When I read the HELP article available at that branch of the Intuit.com web site, it says the following (pasted in directly from that article):

Enter an adjusting entry

1. From the left menu, select Accounting, and choose Reconcile.

2. Reconcile your account.

3. Select Finish now from the drop-down menu.

4. Confirm the Adjustment date.

5. Select Add adjustment and finish.

6. Select Done.