Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Everything you need to know about banking in QuickBooks Online - Discover more
ElaineR
Level 3

im not using QB payroll

Hi,  I dont use payroll in quickbooks ( someone does the payroll and lt me know the amounts tax etc

how can i record how much i pay, collect for paye, ni for each employee in quickbooks

Does the PAYE/NI go to a control account?

Im new to QBO so im asking lots of questions - sorry

Solved
Best answer October 29, 2018

Accepted Solutions
EdwardR
QuickBooks Team

im not using QB payroll

That's correct Elaine, You should have a portion to cover the PAYE/NI then to the Employee directly.

Let us know if we can help with anything else.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
EmmaM
QuickBooks Team

im not using QB payroll

Hi Elaine

Ask as many questions as you like:)

If you are not using the Quickbooks to run your payroll firstly if you can set up your employees to do this you can either  set up employees as suppliers in the expenses section or in the Employees section on the left hand side  and then this will mean  in the suppliers section

This will mean you can then create an expense for each individual employee for Paye  and NI

Have you set up liability accounts for PAYE and NI?

ElaineR
Level 3

im not using QB payroll

Thanks for replying.

There is a employers NI contributions set up as an expense account - but no others

EdwardR
QuickBooks Team

im not using QB payroll

Hello ElaineR,

You can create another account using your chart of accounts to then record the other portion of expense. Have any of the payroll expenses been recorded already? Was it the person running your payroll who created the NI contribution account?

ElaineR
Level 3

im not using QB payroll

Thanks Edward, will do that.

Presume when i make the payment i will split it between the two expense accounts 

Nothings been recorded yet - 

EdwardR
QuickBooks Team

im not using QB payroll