Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Senior Explorer *
Solved

A few questions regarding the payment

payment method.PNG

I am new with the quickbook,

1 so I didn't know why I can't click the invoice check mark. 

Another two questions:

1 Payment Method is a Credit card, Do I have to record the card number in QuickBooks?

2 I normally "create an invoice" from the Home page, and once the payment receives afterward, do I need to create a sale receipt and then click receive payment from Icon. Or JUST CLICK "Receive payment from the certain invoice, and type all the payment method?

Best answer 4 weeks ago

Accepted Solutions
Established Community Backer ***

Re: A few questions regarding the payment

QBDT requires an amount entered in the payment amount box before you can select any of the corresponding invoices. That is how it works even though selecting by checkbox first would be most convenient in being able to tell a customer how much to pay. Maybe someday they will get it right but for now the solution I use is enter a dollar amount greater than the sum of the invoices you wish to receive payment for. Then after checking (and verifying amount being applied to each) the boxes - adjust the payment amount to match the sum of applied amounts.

Yo udo NOT have to record the cc number in QB unless you are using the program to actually charge the cc (through the QB GoPayment add-on) HOWEVER, if you do engter customer cc numbers in QB you will absolutely have to change your complicated password every 90 days -more than enough reason to not store cc numbers, in my book

Sales receipts are for when payment and service coincide. Invoices are for payments yet to come. You cannot apply a Receive Payment to a Sales Receipt as the Sales Receipt itself is considered paid in full when you save it.