cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Established Member
Solved

How to link a check to a Bill

Here is my situation. I am a general contractor. One of my subs (Vendor) needed a down payment and I did not have a Bill from them yet. I wrote a check for the down payment in February.  Now in March I received the Bill for the full amount. How do I apply the check from February to the Bill I want to enter in March.  I also need to add that I used the Items (not expenses) Tab in the Write Checks screen and that I have already billed the Home owner (Customer) for the down payment. [Meaning I can't edit the check and change the expense to accounts payable and the customer job to the vendor because the charge has already been marked as "billed" to the Customer].

Is there a way to do this?  Right now I have entered the March Bill in full and added another line item with a negative amount to showcase the down payment.

Best answer 03-20-2019 01:20 PM

Accepted Solutions
QuickBooks Team

Re: How to link a check to a Bill

Hi there, DTetzlaff.

Good to see you here in the Community. I'm by no means an accounting professional, but I do have some insight to provide that can help get you on the right track.

In situations like this, it's still generally recommended that you change the expense to Accounts Payable. This is the ideal way of applying a down payment check to a bill. For additional insight about this, you can check out this article: Record vendor prepayments or deposits for prepaid parts or services

However, please be sure to reach out to an accounting consultant to ensure this method is the best suit for your business. With Intuit's Find-A-ProAdvisor site, you can search for certified professionals in proximity to your ZIP code that can discuss options more personal to your business's needs.

Please let me know if you need further assistance with this, I want to make sure this is taken care of. Have a great day!

3 Comments