cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Experienced Member

Refund from supplier against inventory asset

Hi, 

I am new to QBO and one of our "class" is poultry. So we paid the supplier for 25,000 units. (Purchase order > Bill > Pay bill). a sum of 1241 USD was paid to the supplier. The supplier only delivered 24,000 units and hence we now need to adjust the inventory and claim the refund in shape of account receivable from the supplier. 

Please help me ge this sorted. 

thanks 

Ps. I do not have any creditor/debtor accoutns set up. also, I dont have any sub accounts of the suppliers 

3 Comments
QuickBooks Team

Re: Refund from supplier against inventory asset

Welcome to the QuickBooks family @harrisch!

Thank you for posting in the Community. I’d be more than glad to help you record a refund from your supplier in QuickBooks Online.

The first thing we need to do is link the vendor refund check to a vendor credit. You'll have to enter the vendor refund using a bank deposit. Then, you can proceed with linking it to the vendor credit.

Here’s how to enter the vendor refund check in the Deposits screen:

1. Select the Plus icon (+), then Bank Deposit.
  2. In the Add other funds to this deposit section, fill in the following fields: 
    Received from: Select or enter the vendor name.
    Account: Select the Accounts Payable account.
    Amount: Enter the check amount.
  3. Select Save and close.

Next, link that deposit to the vendor credit:

1. Select the Plus Icon (+), then Expense or Check.
    (Note: Both Expense and Check recognize and record expenses. When you use Check, the transaction adds to the list of checks that you can print.)
  2. In the Choose a payee drop-down, select the vendor name.
  3. Leave the Reference / Check #, Date, Amount and Memo fields blank.
  4. From the Add to Expense or Add to Check section, select Add for the outstanding vendor credit and deposit.
  5. Select Save and close.