cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ljfd
Level 2

Fixed asset & depreciation tracking

I have 2018 quickbooks desktop pro.  Is there an add on module or something to record fixed assets and calculate the associated depreciation schedules?  Everything I have come across looks like I would need to buy quickbooks accountant premier version, which is $$$ every year.  I am an accountant, but I don't handle other clients, just my husband's S-corp; so I know what I'm doing as far was recording FA and the depreciation.  I guess I'm hoping there is another solution besides the expensive yearly fee for the accountant premier version.  Thanks!

38 Comments 38
qbteachmt
Level 15

You can use any tool, but what you are asking about is FAM = Fixed Asset Manager that is included when you buy QB Accountant Edition. FAM doesn't do anything but act as "smart" index cards; it connects to the data file to place Entries for you, instead of you making them. Only you know if the amount of FA you need to track makes this worthwhile, as well as Changing that QB data file to using the Fixed Asset Item type; that provides the connectivity.

And the FA regulations changed with the TCJA, making all of this much less hassle.

FTech
Level 3

There's a new book out called Simple/Smart Fixed Asset Handling in QuickBooks, for the desktop editions. It shows how to set up Inventory Part Items in a special way to work with fixed assets.

It also has a link to a free spreadsheet for calculating depreciation (not tax depreciation, but methods like SL, 1.5DB, DDB, SOYD) and shows a procedure for getting depreciation transactions prepared by the spreadsheet imported into QuickBooks as a batch. (If you have 50 assets you'll have an imported transaction with 50 lines, because the entire fixed asset list is maintained in QuickBooks, in detail.)