cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
LeslieBarber
Level 6

Can you turn a passion for vintage into a modern online business? Yes, you can. Meet Kristin Perks.

post_content_kristin_perks_top.jpeg

Fashion school grad Kristin Perk wasn’t getting the creative satisfaction she needed from her day job as a restaurant manager. In need of inspiration, she decided to revisit her love of thrift shopping and started reselling her finds on Etsy.

Four years later, she figured out how to turn a fun hobby into a full-fledged company. We had to learn more about how she did it.

Take it away, Kristin!

kristin_perks_circle.jpeg

Name: Kristin Perks

Job: Owner of OldSchoolSwank, an online vintage apparel and home goods shop

Founded: 2011

How did you create your awesome job?

I have a degree in Fashion Design from the Fashion Institute of Technology in New York. After college, my partner and I drove from New York to California with friends and settled in beautiful Lake Tahoe for a post-college adventure. 

I took a job as a restaurant manager at a ski resort, which, although fun, left me missing the creative buzz that New York City had provided. I needed a big dose of inspiration and a little extra money, so I picked back up an old hobby.

I’ve always loved thrifting (and the thrill of the hunt), from shopping for high school dance dresses to collecting recycled garments for my college senior project. While in Tahoe, however, I found myself gravitating more towards cool vintage clothing. I was already a big fan of Etsy, so I listed a few vintage items on the site to see what would happen.

And guess what? They sold!