cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
WillowOlder
Level 5

Was there a specific life event that motivated you to work for yourself?

Major life events like having kids, getting laid off or relocating are often the impetus for deciding to work for yourself. Another common motivating factor? Realizing you’re ready to make some serious changes to your lifestyle and your work style. Tell us:

Can you pinpoint the exact reason (or reasons) you “pivoted” and decided to steer your career into the entrepreneurial lane?

We can’t wait to hear your “pivotal” stories!

6 Comments 6
ShanaNiederman
Level 6

Mine was a "why not" moment? As a new college grad, I'd landed a temp employee postion in my field. I started looking for other opportunities and found people willing to contract with me for work they needed. As things progressed, I realized I had full control of my contract work while I had little control over my fate as a temp employee. When a big contract opportunity came up, I asked myself, "Why not go all in?" So I did. And have never looked back!

SteveChase
Community Champion

Mine was a matter of believing I could have a better life for my family if I went into business for myself. 

lflo
Level 2

With little room for advancement in my last job, I left in early 2017 and took some time off. I did casually look for new opportunities, but I couldn't really pinpoint what I wanted to do. I knew that I didn't want to do what I'd done before, but that was about it.  I also started to enjoy my free time, so I really wanted something part-time and not with the same company. Variety and problem solving had always been a passion.