Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
SarahGonzales
Level 5

How to Start a Fashion Design Business: 7 Designers on How They Got Started

howtostart_clothing.jpg

Seven designer-entrepreneurs who create everything from lingerie to infant onesies to beach kaftans tell us how they got their businesses up and running!

fashion_caustic.jpg

Erica Voges of Caustic Threads, screen-printed knitwear: “I started on Etsy and I also now have a decent wholesale business and sell to boutiques across the country. I have a degree in fashion design and originally intended to sell primarily original hand-sewn designs in Caustic Threads. I had a new baby girl and found that most of those kinds of products were too time-consuming to knock out during nap time and, ultimately, were not very profitable.”

“So, I purchased a screen printing kit several years ago and taught myself how to use it. When I started screen printing I didn't really have any expectations, but I'm thrilled that my business became successful enough to do it full-time.”

Read Erica’s full story: Meet Erica Voges, the T-Shirt Designer Bringing Roller Derby Spirit to the Small Business World

fashion_carly.jpg

Carly Burson of Tribe Alive!, a sustainably-produced apparel & accessories line: I worked for Ann Taylor, Banana Republic and J. Crew. I loved my career but I started to feel like the mainstream fashion manufacturing industry perpetuated poverty and was unethical and immoral.”