Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Everything you need to know about banking in QuickBooks Online - Discover more
kdf
Level 2

placing your in-going & outgoing into Categories self employed

How can i add a new category to place what i do for a living in the correct order, the same question keeps coming up and the same answer -  

Here’s how to add a new category:

1. Go to the Gear icon.
  2. Choose List.
  3. Select All Lists.
  4. Choose Product Categories.
  5. Click New Category.
  6. Hit Save.

there isn't anything like this on my system / page / accounts, can someone enlighten me on what is the correct way to change categories

Thanks in advance

Kevin

Solved
Best answer February 28, 2019

Accepted Solutions
EmmaM
QuickBooks Team

Hello kdf

The instruction in that list is not for the UK Self-Employed.

The UK Self- Employed product does not have the ability to set up your own categories, you need to use the existing ones because the categories are linked to the Self Assessment summary and are set up to then push to the correct section(allowable/ disallowable)

More information on the categories can be found here

Any questions let us know

Thanks

Emma

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
EmmaM
QuickBooks Team

Hello kdf

The instruction in that list is not for the UK Self-Employed.

The UK Self- Employed product does not have the ability to set up your own categories, you need to use the existing ones because the categories are linked to the Self Assessment summary and are set up to then push to the correct section(allowable/ disallowable)

More information on the categories can be found here

Any questions let us know

Thanks

Emma

kdf
Level 2

Hi,

Thank you for your reply,