Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Everything you need to know about banking in QuickBooks Online - Discover more
mattdavis12345
Level 2

Inputting standard and exempt VAT on the same expenses receipt

Hi,

I'm new to Quickbooks so please be gentle! Many of my expenses receipts have standard and exempt VAT items on the same receipt- e.g. a receipt for hot and cold food at a service station. When I see these transactions on my bank feed it seems the only way to enter the correct VAT amount on QB is to split the transaction and enter the totals for VAT and non-VAT items separately. Problem with this is it's very time consuming- I have to manually work out the totals before VAT with a calculator. Not what i'd imagined when signing up to quickbooks!

Is there a quicker way of doing this? How do other people approach this? 

Thanks in advance.

Matt

3 REPLIES 3
EmmaM
QuickBooks Team

Hello Matt

Thanks for your question

Is this for QuickBooks Online?

If so are you entering a sales receipt for the items or are you adding the transaction from the bank feed only?If you are creating a sales receipt you can have separate lines with separate tax codes on them and then in the banking page it should create a match when the money appears in the bank.

The other option is yes when if you are just adding from the banking screen would be to split the transaction as it is a bulk amount the system can not memorise like it can with other transactions a default code.

Any questions or if you are using a different product let us  know

Kind regards

Emma

ChampionT
Level 1

I have same question.

The previous response was talking about Sales ?  It's not sales it is expenses

JamesC
QuickBooks Team

Hey guys,

I'm hoping my advice can help speed things up for you.