qbteachmt
Level 15

Other questions

@rockerjd 

let me help with this part: "The problem is, I am an attorney and I have to have a segregated trust account for each of my clients"

You never needed this at all. You need one Liability account. Everything you do, you use a Customer Transaction for it, to flow the data in and out of that acccount.

Set up Trust Retainer Liability. Set up Trust Bank. Make a Service or other charge item linked to Trust Liability. Use that on a Sales Receipt for Client, when you get a retainer. Make more items, if you want other "reasons" for tracking and reporting purposes, such as Settlement Funds Received, Retainer Received, Retainer Returned, Retainer Applied, etc.

They all link to that One Liability account. They all get sent to the Trust Bank.

Now, when you invoice for Advanced Costs + fees income, you need to show it is Paid by Trust funds. So, we Write Check from the Trust Bank to the firm as Payee. On this check, list all the allocation of funds being removed from Trust Bank to pay client invoices. That means using the "liability" item(s) and the amounts on the lines in the items section and Job Tracking which client this belongs to; these are not Billable.

Now, treat that Trust Bank check as having Arrived from the Trust Department. Each line you put there is a Receive Payment against that client's open charges.

If you need to return funds, from Trust Bank, that is payee = client, and still listing one of your Retainer Liability item(s) here as the Detail for giving them funds from Trust Bank.

Every time you do this, Trust Bank and Trust Liability increase and decrease Together, meeting IOLTA requirements.

"I have strict standards to uphold with the state bar association in which I have to be able to show a detailed account list at any time."