Anonymous
Not applicable

Reports and accounting

Hi Lina,

I've been away from community for a while, but happened to spot your question today.  I've been doing restaurant books for over 20 years... and frankly my constant search is for a good solution to this problem.

Here are a couple of tips -

1.  There are a few apps that work with QuickBooks online that specialize in reporting.  I personally use Futrli, which allows me to report on a fortnight (2 weeks) for some items.

2.  A friend/colleague Angela Meharg of Datisfy has been developing a way to satisfy some elements of these requirements by using budgeting features and some other neat tricks..

3.  If you are on Facebook, please join us over at Restaurant Accounting Network.  This closed group has a lot of people sharing a lot of ideas on how to best do restaurant books.

4.  I would also recommend stating to QuickBooks in every way you possibly can that the ability to customize reporting periods on reports needs to be more robust.  To date, I think their position has been that reporting apps can handle that.  But since most reporting apps take cues/limits on how they can deal with data from the database they are pulling from, it often means they are only set up to riff off of what QuickBooks can do, at best.  

***If you are interested, I am doing a webinar next week about how to better streamline the bookkeeping process for restaurants.  There will be a particular focus on making the books reflect what really matters to restaurants in a manner that is actually helpful to them.  Tips on how to customize some stuff will be throughout, including allusions to 13/4 periods etc.  So feel free to reach out to me if you are interested.

On a personal note, QuickBooks and other accounting platforms love to use retail and hospitality in advertising.  These businesses are very visual, and frankly come off very authentic.  They typify, I think, everything that is 'small business entrepreneurship'.