cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
QuickBooksHelp
Intuit

Delete an account on your chart of accounts in QuickBooks Online

Learn how to delete accounts from your chart of accounts.

Keep your chart of accounts simple and organised. If you don't plan to use an account anymore, you can make it inactive. This essentially deletes it. QuickBooks hides inactive accounts from lists and menus, but keeps past transactions on your reports.

If you've never used an account or its balance is $0, you can easily make it inactive. However, active accounts you've used for a while will take a bit more work. Since accounts are connected and rely on each other to stay balanced, deleting data from one affects everything else. We'll guide you through what you can do so you can make the best choice.

There's a big difference between disconnecting an account from online banking and deleting one from your chart of accounts. Here are a few tips to keep in mind.

Disconnecting accounts connected to online banking

Instead of deleting accounts that are connected to online banking, we recommend disconnecting it. This simply stops QuickBooks from downloading new transactions. If you disconnect an account from online banking, your existing accounting data won't change. You can reconnect it any time to start downloading transactions again.

When you disconnect, QuickBooks deletes transactions that still need to be categorised in the For Review tab. If the transactions are older than 90 days, you won't be able to download them into QuickBooks again.

Follow these steps to disconnect an account from online banking.

Deleting accounts

Deleting an account is permanent. You won't see it on menus or lists anymore. While you hold on to your existing data on financial reports, you may delete transaction records. It's very hard to get transactions back into the account if you decide to recreate it later on.

If transactions in a deleted account are tied to other accounts in QuickBooks Online, they will remain in those accounts. For example, if you delete a credit card account, but you made card payments from your transaction account, the record of those transactions stay in the transaction account.

Make an account inactive to delete it

Note: Before you start, reach out to your accountant. Make sure this change is right for you. Don't have an accountant? We can help you find one.

Once you make an account inactive, it's very difficult to undo.

If you make an account with a balance inactive, QuickBooks creates a journal entry. This moves the remaining balance to another account. Your existing transactions don't disappear and stay on your financial reports. However, if you decide to use the account again, QuickBooks won't move the balance back or change the journal entry.

Important: QuickBooks uses certain accounts as default accounts for features. Tax and undeposited funds accounts are examples of default account. You cant delete default accounts. Learn more about default accounts.

Some accounts require extra steps before you can make them inactive:

When you're ready to make an account inactive:

  1. Go to Settings ⚙ and select Chart of accounts.
  2. Find the account you want to delete.
  3. Select the Action ▼ dropdown and select Make inactive.

See inactive accounts

When you run reports, you’ll still see inactive accounts and their transactions. QuickBooks includes them to keep everything accurate. You can customise some reports to hide inactive accounts, but this may affect accuracy.

If you want to see your inactive accounts:

  1. Select Settings ⚙ and then Chart of Accounts.
  2. Select the Gear icon ⚙ at the top of the list.
  3. Select the Include inactive checkbox.
  1. Go to Settings ⚙ and select Chart of accounts.
  2. Select the Gear icon ⚙ above the Action column. Then select Include inactive.
  3. Find the account you want to use again and select Make active.

Keep in mind, QuickBooks won't add transactions back to the account or edit any journal entries it made to balance your accounts.

Was this helpful?

You must sign in to vote, reply, or post