cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Intuit
2 helpful votes

Downgrade your QuickBooks Online plan

Get help with downgrading your QuickBooks Online plan.

If you think your current QuickBooks Online plan isn't the right fit for your business, don't worry. You can downgrade. And if you change your mind after, you can still upgrade anytime.

Before you downgrade

Be sure to do these first before you switch to another plan.

Review what will go away when you downgrade

  • Features: Downgrading also means leaving some features your current QuickBooks plan supports. Make sure your new QuickBooks plan will meet your needs. Check out this comparison chart to review what will go away when you switch.
  • Third-party apps: Changing your plan might affect some third-party apps connected to QuickBooks. This will happen if the new plan doesn't support the feature your app works with. You can still use some apps directly on their website. You’ll just have to enter transactions manually from the app since it will no longer sync with QuickBooks. Review your apps in the My Apps tab.
  • Plan discounts: Downgrading will also remove all discounts you have on your current plan.

Take care of possible downgrade issues (or “stoppers”)

Some features in your current plan might cause a hiccup when downgrading. These “downgrade stoppers” happen if you move to a plan that doesn’t have any of the features below.

Recurring transaction templates

QuickBooks Online Simple Start doesn’t support recurring transactions. If you need to switch to Simple Start, turn off your recurring transaction templates first. Be sure to have an alternative way to keep track of your scheduled transactions.

  1. Select Settings ⚙ and select Recurring Transactions.
  2. To pause each recurring transaction, select the Edit ▼drop-down.
  3. Select Pause, and then select Pause again to confirm.

Users

You might have to remove some users, depending on which plan you'll downgrade to and how many users it supports.

Find out more about each plan's user limit.

Inventory

Only QuickBooks Online Plus lets you track inventory.If you need to switch from any of these plans, you’ll have to make your inventory items inactive first.

Before you deactivate inventory, save a report of all your products or services:

  1. Go to Reports.
  2. Search for "Product/Service List" report.
  3. Scroll to the top of the report. Select Customise and then Filter.
  4. Select the small arrow ▼ icon next to Deleted.
  5. Select All, and then Run report.
  6. Export the report, and save it in a folder you can easily access.

To deactivate a product or service:

  1. Select Settings ⚙ and select Products and Services.
  2. Select the small funnel icon. Select the Type ▼ drop-down, then select Inventory.
  3. To select all your products and services, select the checkbox next to NAME column header.
  4. Select Batch actions ▼ drop-down, then select Make inactive.
  5. Select Yes to confirm.

Note: When you downgrade, your inventory items’ quantities also reset to zero.

Multi-currency

QuickBooks Online Simple Start doesn’t have a multi-currency feature. If you have this feature turned on in your current plan, you won’t be able to switch to Simple Start.

Get in touch with us Get in touch with us so we can help.

Downgrade your plan

  1. Sign in to QuickBooks Online as an admin.
  2. Select Settings ⚙ and select Account and Settings.
  3. Go to Billing & Subscription. Make sure your payment info is updated and valid.
  4. Select Downgrade. The "Change my plan" page shows your current plan, and other plans you can downgrade to.Can't see the downgrade option? Go to qbo.intuit.com/app/changeplan to downgrade.
  5. Find the new plan you want, then select Choose Plan.
  6. Review what goes away with your new plan. If you’re ready to downgrade, select Next.
  7. Take care of any stoppers that appear. In case you encounter any problems when fixing stoppers, fix them manually. Follow the steps in "Take care of possible downgrade issues" section, then go back here once you're done.
  8. Review your new billing details. Select Change plan to complete the process.
  9. Sign out of QuickBooks Online.

If you get the message "Something's not quite right"

This is because we can't use your payment info. Go to your Billing & Subscription screen, and make sure your payment info is updated and valid.

Check if your plan is changed

The plan change should take effect immediately. To make sure your subscription is downgraded:

  1. Sign in to QuickBooks Online as an admin.
  2. Select Settings ⚙ and select Account and Settings.
  3. Go to Billing and Subscription, then check your plan details.

If your client is on direct billing, follow the steps above to check. But if their QuickBooks plan is on Wholesale Billing, here’s how to check if it's changed:

  1. Sign in to QuickBooks Online Accountant.
  2. Select Settings ⚙ and then select Your Account.
  3. Select Your subscriptions.

If you decide to go back to your previous plan

If you change your mind, you need to wait 24 hours before you can go back to your previous plan.

Once you’re ready, here’s how to upgrade your plan.

After upgrading, be sure to do the following:

Was this helpful?

You must sign in to vote, reply, or post