cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
For support running your business during COVID-19 visit quickbooks.com.au/COVID19businesssupport.
Highlighted
Content Creator

How do I delete a terminated employee?

 
Solved
Best answer 02-28-2020

Best Answers
Highlighted
Content Creator

How do I delete a terminated employee?

The ability to delete an employee is dependent on whether the employee has bee included in a pay run.

If the employee has not been included in a finalised pay run, the steps to delete them are as follows:

 

1. Navigate to the main Employees screen
2. Put your mouse cursor over the name of the employee, and then use the red 'X' icon on the right hand side to delete the employee

 

However, if an employee has been included in a finalised pay run, they cannot be deleted from the system, even once they are terminated.

 

Australian employers are required to retain all employment related records for up to 7 years.

 

After 7 years have elapsed since an employee was terminated, the employee can request that their data be anonymised. This will result in the system anonymising any personally identifiable information to make it impossible to identify the employee. This complies with GDPR privacy legislation.

 

To anonymise an employee's data after their termination, follow these steps:

 

1. Navigate to the main Employees screen
2. Select the name of the employee (if the name of the employee is not visible, change the viewing filter to 'All Employees'
3. Next to the Re-Activate Employee button, select the drop down and select Anonymise employee data
4. Follow the prompts to complete the process.

View solution in original post

1 Comment
Highlighted
Content Creator

How do I delete a terminated employee?

The ability to delete an employee is dependent on whether the employee has bee included in a pay run.

If the employee has not been included in a finalised pay run, the steps to delete them are as follows:

 

1. Navigate to the main Employees screen
2. Put your mouse cursor over the name of the employee, and then use the red 'X' icon on the right hand side to delete the employee

 

However, if an employee has been included in a finalised pay run, they cannot be deleted from the system, even once they are terminated.

 

Australian employers are required to retain all employment related records for up to 7 years.

 

After 7 years have elapsed since an employee was terminated, the employee can request that their data be anonymised. This will result in the system anonymising any personally identifiable information to make it impossible to identify the employee. This complies with GDPR privacy legislation.

 

To anonymise an employee's data after their termination, follow these steps:

 

1. Navigate to the main Employees screen
2. Select the name of the employee (if the name of the employee is not visible, change the viewing filter to 'All Employees'
3. Next to the Re-Activate Employee button, select the drop down and select Anonymise employee data
4. Follow the prompts to complete the process.

View solution in original post