cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
QuickBooksHelp
Intuit

Manage users in QuickBooks Payroll powered by KeyPay

Within QuickBooks Payroll, you can add a new user and assign permissions, edit existing user permissions and delete users. 

Note: Adding a user to QuickBooks Payroll without adding them in QuickBooks Online will not provide them access to QuickBooks Online. If a user needs access to both QuickBooks Online and Payroll, add them to your QuickBooks Online company.

How to add a payroll user

  1. Select Employees from the left menu. 
  2. Select Payroll Settings, then select Manage Users (Located under Business Management). 
  3. Select Add
  4. Enter the user's Email address and Name. 
  5. Select whether you wish to provide Full Access or Restricted Acess (See below for more information on Restricted Access).
  6. Select Save.

If you select Restricted Access further settings will appear for you to complete. There are five different sub-settings you can provide a restricted user with. You can choose The sub-settings are:

  • Employee groups: choose an employee or group of employees the user can access. To create an employee group from this section, select Create. From there enter a name for the employee group and complete the criteria required that make up this group. You can include more than one criteria by selecting Add another criteria.  
  • Location: choose a location(s) the user can access. You can also select a location and all it's sub-locations to be included as well. 
  • Reporting: provide the user with access to one, some, or all reports. Reporting access can be restricted based on employee group and/or location access. 
  • Payroll: provide the user with authorisation to approve STP pay events by ticking STP Pay Event Approver. This permission is only relevant to businesses that use a registered BAS/TAX Agent to make ATO submissions. This permission is not restricted by employee groups or locations. However, an STP Pay Event Approver will only be authorised to approve a pay event once a full access user has specifically assigned the user.  
  • Clock Me In: provide the user with access to one, some, or all kiosks in the business. This permission is only relevant to businesses that use the Time and Attendance feature. 

If you have chosen Employee access and/or Location access for a user, you will then need to select one or more permission, as follows:

  • View Leave Requests: Can only view leave requests (ie. read-only).
  • Create Leave Requests: Can only create leave requests but not approve or view leave requests.
  • Approve Leave Requests: Permissions of View Leave Requests and Create Leave Requests as well as the ability to approve requests.
  • View Employee Expenses: Can only view expenses (ie. read-only).
  • Create Employee Expenses: Can only submit expense requests for other employees but not approve or view expense requests.
  • Approve Employee Expenses: Permissions of View Employee Expenses and Create Employee Expenses as well as the ability to approve requests.
  • Manage Employee Documents: Can add employee documents
  • View Employee Documents: Can only view employee documents
  • Manage Employee Qualifications: Can add/allocate Employee Qualifications
  • View Employee Qualifications: Can only view Employee Qualifications
  • View Employee Rosters: Can only view the roster (ie. read-only).
  • Manage Employee Rosters: Users can create, edit, delete and publish shifts as well as add employee unavailability.
  • Create Timesheets: Users can create and import timesheets. They can also edit and delete timesheets submitted by employees they manage.
  • Approve Timesheets: Permissions of Create Timesheets plus ability to approve timesheets.
  • View Shift Costs: Users can see the shift and/or timesheet costs.
  • Create Tasks: Users can view and create pay run tasks.  
  • Initiate Employee Self Setup: Users can start the employee self-set up process for new employees.

How to edit a payroll user

  1. Select Employees from the left menu. 
  2. Select the Payroll Settings tab then select Manage Users (Located under Business Management). 
  3. Select the pencil icon next to the employee you wish to edit the permissions for.
  4. Edit the user's permissions (see above for further information on editing permissions).
  5. Select Save.

How to delete a payroll user

  1. Select Employees from the left menu.
  2. Select the Payroll Settings tab then select Manage Users (Located under Business Management). 
  3. Select the trash can icon next to the employee you wish to delete the permissions for.
  4. Select OK to revoke the user's access to payroll.

Note: The user will not receive an email notifying them their access has been revoked.

Content sourced from KeyPay

Was this helpful?

You must sign in to vote, reply, or post