cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Intuit
12 helpful votes

How to manage default and special accounts in the Chart of Accounts

When you create a company, QuickBooks Online creates specific accounts for that company by default, and creates other special accounts when certain features are turned on in the settings.

The following sections provide information about which accounts can and can't be deleted, merged, or linked to specific options or functions, how to manage these accounts, and any account limitations you may encounter with them.

 

Accounts that cannot be deleted

The following default accounts are created automatically, and you cannot delete them or use them for any other purpose:

    • Undeposited Funds: The Undeposited Funds account is a default account in QuickBooks Online that holds funds from payments to your company until you deposit them to your bank account. You cannot delete this account as it is required to properly record payments before they are deposited.
    • Opening Balance Equity: This account is the default account for adjustments. You can only edit the name of this account, if necessary.
    • Retained Earnings: This account is the default account for reporting retained earnings on the Balance Sheet report. You can change the name of the Retained Earnings account if, for example, you are a non-profit that prefers to use another name for retained earnings, but in all other cases, the name should not be changed.
    • Inventory/Stock Assets and Cost of Goods Sold/Cost of Sales: If you try to edit or delete these accounts, any edits to Products/Services will recreate them.
    • Reconcile/Reconciliation Discrepancies: This account is used to report when your transactions in QuickBooks Online don't match the transactions reported on your bank statement, and this account cannot be deleted.
    • Unapplied Cash Payment Income: This account is used to report cash basis income from customer payments that were received but not applied to a sales form.

    • (Sales tax agency name, such as GST/VAT) Payable: This account is created when you set up sales tax and reports the sales tax for every transaction. You cannot delete this account.

Accounts that can be edited, but not deleted or merged

The following accounts can be edited, but cannot be deleted or merged:

  • Services: The Services income account is the default income account in QuickBooks Online. It operates the same as any other income account, but neither it nor the corresponding Product/Service item can be deleted, but you can edit the names of both to reflect your main income type.
  • Uncategorized Expense and Uncategorized Income: These accounts are created automatically when you enter an opening balance for a supplier or customer, and record any expense or income transactions that can't be matched to an account. You cannot delete these accounts.
  • Uncategorized Asset: This account records any asset that cannot be matched to an account, and cannot be deleted.
  • Owner's Equity: This account represents the cash or assets you have invested in the company and cannot be deleted.

You can edit the Services income account to reflect the main source of income you will be using.

To edit the name of the Services account:

  1. Go to the Settings ⚙ icon.
  2. From the left menu, select Accounting and choose Chart of Accounts.
  3. Locate the Services account in the list.
  4. From the Action column drop-down menu, select Edit.
  5. In the Account dialog, update the Name to reflect your main income.
  6. Select Save and Close.

The Services account name now reflects your main income.

Accounts that can be deleted by merging

You can delete the following accounts by merging them into the Services income account:

  • Billable Expense Income
  • Markup

To merge these accounts:

  1. Select the Settings icon ⚙, then select Accounting and choose Chart of Accounts.
  2. Locate the account to be merged in the list.
  3. From the Action column drop-down menu, select Edit.
  4. In the Account dialog, change the name of the account to Services, or the name assigned to the Services income account.
  5. Select Save and Close.
  6. When prompted whether you want to merge the accounts, select Yes.

The accounts are merged and the original accounts can no longer be used.

Was this helpful?

You must sign in to vote, reply, or post