Learn about the different options for user roles and access permissions.
When you add a user in QuickBooks online, you can manage their roles and limit their access to specific tasks. You can also choose what users can see and do within different areas of QuickBooks like customers and sales or suppliers and purchases.
Learn more about user roles
QuickBooks user roles are customisable permissions you can give your team. User roles are either billable or non-billable. Billable users count toward your user limit, while non-billable users don’t.
Roles that count toward user limits
Learn more about each billable user role that counts toward your user limits.
The primary admin is the main user who has access to every part of the QuickBooks account. They can manage all users and other admin tasks. By default, the primary admin is the person who initially set up the account.
If you need to assign a new primary admin, you can transfer the role to another user.
Roles that don’t count toward user limits
Reports only user (only available in QuickBooks Online Plus and Advanced)
They can see all reports except the Audit log. They can create custom reports and add report groups, but they can't view the actual transactions. They can't see reports that show payroll or contact info.
Reports only user (only available in QuickBooks Online Plus)
They can see all reports except the Audit log (reports that show payroll or contact info). They can create custom reports and add report groups, but they can't view the actual transactions. They can't see reports that show contact info.
Time tracking only user
You can invite employees or suppliers as time tracking only users. They can only enter their own time sheets. Their only access is to see time sheets and time reports.
Standard user role access rights
Primary admins and company admins get all access rights. When you assign the standard user role, QuickBooks lets you choose the user’s access rights. You can choose to give them all access, limited access or none.
Here's a summary of what the access options allow.
User settings for standard user role
After you’ve chosen a standard user role’s access rights, you’ll also be able to select their user settings. You can give them permission to manage users, edit company info, or manage subscriptions. Or you can choose a view only option or no permission at all.