cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Intuit

Disconnect or delete an account connected to online banking

Learn how to delete or disconnect a bank or credit card account you use to download transactions in QuickBooks Online.

When you connect an account to online banking, QuickBooks downloads your recent transactions automatically. If you decide you don't want to get new transactions from your bank, disconnect the account.

Decide what's best for you

There's a big difference between disconnecting and deleting an account.

Disconnecting accounts

If you disconnect an account from online banking, it stays active. QuickBooks just stops downloading new transactions. You can reconnect it, later on, to start downloading transactions again.

When you disconnect, QuickBooks deletes any transactions that still need to be reviewed in the For Review tab. If they're older than 90 days, you won't be able to download them into QuickBooks again.

Deleting accounts

Deleting an account from your chart of accounts is permanent. You won't see it on menus and lists anymore. While you hold on to your old data on financial reports, it's very hard to get that data back into the account if you decide to use it again.

If transactions in the deleted account appeared in other accounts in QuickBooks Online, they will remain in those accounts. For example, if you delete a credit card account but you made payments to that card from your checking account, the payments will stay in the checking account.

If you're not sure which is right for you, reach out to your accountant.

Disconnect an account connected to online banking

Important: Don't disconnect an account if you run into a bank connection error. You may download duplicate transactions or duplicate opening balance entries when you reconnect it. Instead, follow the steps to fix online banking errors.
  1. Go to the Banking menu or Transactions menu.
  2. Select the blue tile for your bank account.
  3. Select the pencil ✎ icon to edit the account, then select Edit account info.
  4. Select the Disconnect this account on save checkbox.
  5. Select Save and close.

If the connected account is in the middle of an update, you won't see the disconnect option. Wait a few minutes for the update to finish before trying to disconnect.


Important: If you disconnect or delete a direct feeds account for a bank in the UK and you want to reconnect it later, you will need to complete all the connection steps again. This includes reauthorising the bank by completing, printing, signing, and posting the authorisation form.

 

Delete an account on your chart of accounts

Deleting an account is permanent. Make sure you review how to delete an account and make it inactive on your chart of accounts.

Was this helpful?

You must sign in to vote, reply, or post