cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Get your Payroll questions answered by a QuickBooks Product Manager here - https://intuit.me/31Nl3My
QuickBooksHelp
Intuit

Disconnect or delete accounts connected to online banking

Learn how to delete or disconnect a bank or credit card account from QuickBooks Online.

When you connect an account to online banking, QuickBooks automatically downloads your recent transactions.

If you decide you don't want to get new transactions from your bank, simply disconnect the account. We'll also show you how to completely delete accounts if you don't need the data from it anymore.

There's a big difference between disconnecting an account from online banking and deleting one from your chart of accounts. Here are a few tips to keep in mind.

Disconnecting accounts connected to online banking

Instead of deleting accounts that are connected to online banking, we recommend disconnecting it. This simply stops QuickBooks from downloading new transactions. If you disconnect an account from online banking, your existing accounting data won't change. You can reconnect it any time to start downloading transactions again.

When you disconnect, QuickBooks deletes transactions that still need to be categorised in the For review tab. If the transactions are older than 90 days, you won't be able to download them into QuickBooks again.

Deleting accounts

Deleting an account is permanent. You won't see it on menus or lists anymore. While you hold on to your existing data on financial reports, you may delete transaction records. It's very hard to get transactions back into the account if you decide to recreate it later on.

If transactions in a deleted account are tied to other accounts in QuickBooks Online, they will remain in those accounts. For example, if you delete a credit card account, but you made card payments from your current account, the record of those transactions stay in the current account.

Disconnect an account connected to online banking

  1. Go to the Banking menu or Transactions menu. Then select the Banking tab.
  2. Select the tile for the bank account.
  3. Select the pencil ✎ icon, then select Edit account info.
  4. Select the Disconnect this account on save checkbox.
  5. Select Save and Close.

You can reconnect the account to start downloading transactions again.
Important: If you disconnect or delete a direct feeds account for a bank in the UK and you want to reconnect it later, you will need to complete all the connection steps again. This includes reauthorising the bank by completing, printing, signing, and posting the authorisation form.

Delete an account on your chart of accounts

Deleting an account from your chart of accounts is permanent. If you're sure this is what you want to do, here's how to delete an account and make it inactive.

Was this helpful?

You must sign in to vote, reply, or post