QuickBooks HelpQuickBooksHelpIntuit

What happens to my QuickBooks Online data after I cancel?

SOLVEDby QuickBooks140Updated December 12, 2023

The length of time QuickBooks Online stores your data under our data retention policy depends on how your account was cancelled:

  • If you cancel your QuickBooks Online subscription, your data will be available in read-only access for 1 year from the date of cancellation.
  • If you cancel QuickBooks Online during the trial period or if your trial expires, your data will be available in read-only access for 1 year from the date of cancellation.
  • If your credit card is declined, you have a 14-day grace period to update the billing information on your account. During this time, you'll have full access to your company data and can create new transactions or make changes. After the 14-day grace period, your account will be suspended and your data will be available in read-only access for 1 year.

We recommend that you export or print your data before cancelling your account.

Note: If you resubscribe after cancelling a paid QuickBooks Online subscription, you'll be able to access your earlier data. If you're using a trial version, you can still subscribe with the same credentials and access your data as long as you do so within 12 months. After 12 months your data will no longer be available.

Was this helpful?

You must sign in to vote, reply, or post
QuickBooks Online EssentialsQuickBooks Online PlusQuickBooks Online Simple Start

Sign in for the best experience

Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of QuickBooks users.

More like this