Manage custom roles in QuickBooks Online Accountant
by Intuit•2• Updated 4 days ago
Learn how to add and edit custom roles in QuickBooks Online Accountant.
Create and assign custom roles to your team members. This lets you grant access to your firm's and clients’ books and protect sensitive areas at the same time.
- Go to Firm hub
, select Manage users, then select Users (Take me there).
Note: If you are using QuickBooks Online Accountant, select Team and then select Roles.
Tip: Learn more about access levels for your accounting team. - Select the Roles tab.
- Select Client roles to create a new role for accessing clients’ books, or select Firm roles to create a new role for accessing the firm’s books.
- Select Add role.
- Enter the role name in the Role name field.
- Add a description in the Role description field (optional).
- Select one or more of the following options to setup access:
- Sales
- Expenses
- Stock
- Lists
- Bookkeeping
- Accounting
- Budgets
- Payroll
- Reports
- Account management
- Pro Tax Return Access
- Pro Tax EFILE
- Customer hub
- Client Insights
Note: Options vary based on your selection of either Client roles or Firm roles on Roles tab.
- Select or uncheck View, Create, Edit, and Delete as needed.
- Select Save.
Note: If you selected Firm roles, you can add a user from the message that appears after you create a role.
- Select Add User.
- Enter the user’s name, and email address.
- Select Add user.
Edit a role
- Go to Firm hub
, select Manage users, then select Users (Take me there).
Note: If you are using QuickBooks Online Accountant, select Team and then select Roles. - Select the Roles tab.
- Select Client roles or Firm roles.
- Find the role, then select Edit from the Action column.
- Make changes as needed.
- Select Save.
Deactivate a role
- Go to Firm hub
, select Manage users, then select Users (Take me there).
Note: If you are using QuickBooks Online Accountant, select Team and then select Roles. - Select the Roles tab.
- Select Client roles or Firm roles.
- Find the role, then select the more icon
from the Action column. - Select Deactivate, then select Deactivate again.
Note: You can delete a role or restore a deactivated role.
- To delete the role completely, find the role, then select Delete from the Action column. Select Delete again to confirm. This action can’t be undone.
- To restore a deactivated role, find the role, select the more icon
then select Reactivate. Select Reactivate again to confirm.
After you create a custom role, you can edit your team members to assign them to it.