You can add a new user and assign permissions, edit existing user permissions and even export all user permission settings in QuickBooks Online Advanced Payroll.
To do so, go to the payroll homepage, then select Payroll Settings and Manage Users.
Add a New User
To add a new user, click Add. You will be required to complete all of the following:
- The user's email address.
- The user's full name.
- Select the access level for that user by clicking on either Full Access or Restricted Access. Full access gives the user administrator access to ALL areas and functions of payroll. Restricted access is commonly given to managers. Here you can select what specific areas you want the user to access and restrict by employee group and/or location.
- If Full Access is selected, then click Save. The new user will receive two separate emails with login details and instructions on creating a password and logging into payroll.
- If Restricted Access is selected, further settings will appear for you to complete. There are 3 different sub-settings you can provide a restricted user with. You can choose to activate one or all 3 of the different types of access. The sub-settings are:
- Employee access: choose an employee or group of employees the user can access. To create an employee group from this section, click on ‘Create’ for the context panel to appear. From there enter a name for the employee group and complete the criteria required that make up this group. You can include more than one criteria by clicking on “Add another criteria” and then choose whether the multiple criteria must match ALL or ANY of the criteria selected. You can also create employee groups from the ‘Manage Employee Groups’ tab, which is explained further below.
- Location: choose a location(s) the user can access. You can also select a location and all it's sub-locations to be be included as well (this means that the user will have access to all sub-locations sitting underneath the location selected).
- Reporting: provide the user with access to one, some or all reports. Keep in mind any reports that are accessed are "whole" reports - ie. the reports are not restricted based on employee and/or location access granted to the user.
- If you have chosen Employee access and/or Location access for a user, you will then need to select one or more permission, as follows:
- View Leave Requests: can only view leave requests (ie. read-only).
- Create Leave Requests: can only create leave requests but not approve or view leave requests. Once created, leave requests cannot be edited.
- Approve Leave Requests: permissions of ‘View Leave Requests’ and ‘Create Leave Requests’ as well as the ability to edit pending requests and approve requests.
- View Employee Expenses: can only view expenses (ie. read-only).
- Create Employee Expenses: can only submit expense requests for other employees but not approve or view expense requests.
- Approve Employee Expenses: permissions of ‘View Employee Expenses’ and ‘Create Employee Expenses’ as well as the ability to approve requests.
- View Employee Rosters: Can only view the roster (ie. read-only).
- Manage Employee Rosters: Users can create, edit, delete and publish shifts as well as add employee unavailability.
- Create Timesheets: Users can create and import timesheets. They can also edit and delete timesheets submitted by employees they manage.
- Approve Timesheets: Permissions of ‘Create Timesheets’ plus ability to approve timesheets.
- View Shift Costs: Users can see the shift and/or timesheet costs.
- Create Tasks: Users can view and create pay run tasks.
- Once permissions have been assigned, click on Save.
Delete an existing user
- Click on the bin icon located on the right hand side of the user's name.
- A delete confirmation popup box will appear. Click OK.
Note: The user will not receive an email notifying them their access has been revoked.
You can export all the users and their permission information into an excel spreadsheet. To do this click on Export.
While only payroll administrators have access to the employee records, an employee manager will have access to Emergency Contact information (only) for any employee they've been assigned permissions for.