The length of time QuickBooks Online stores your data under our data retention policy depends on how your account was cancelled:
- If you cancel your QuickBooks Online subscription, your data will be available in read-only access for 1 year from the date of cancellation.
- If you cancel QuickBooks Online during the trial period or if your trial expires, your data will be available in read-only access for 90 days.
- If your credit card is declined, you have a 14-day grace period to update the billing information on your account. During this time, you'll have full access to your company data and can create new transactions or make changes. After the 14-day grace period, your account will be suspended and your data will be available in read-only access for one year.
We recommend that you export or print your data before cancelling your account. However, as long as you're within the read-only access period of your cancelled account, you'll still be able to export your data.
Note: If you resubscribe within 12 months of cancelling a paid QuickBooks Online subscription, you'll be able to access your earlier data. After 12 months, you can still resubscribe with the same credentials, but your data will no longer be available.