Created with Sketch.Learn about PPP and Loan Forgiveness, stay informed with the latest changes.
Created with Sketch.Need help with 1099's or other Year End topics? Visit our Year End Resources page.
Created with Sketch.New to QuickBooks or using a new product? Visit our Get Started resource page to help you get going.
Created with Sketch.Need to make changes to your account? Visit the Account Manager Portal.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Level 1

I created a company twice. How do I delete the duplicate company from my list on the Sign-on page.

 
2 Comments
Level 6

I created a company twice. How do I delete the duplicate company from my list on the Sign-on page.

Hi tfnoon-1791-com , you could try this steps: 

  1. From the File menu, choose Open or Restore Company.
  2. Choose Open a Company file and click Next. A window with all available company files will open.
  3. Click on Edit List, located under the Open button. An Edit Company list window will open.
  4. Put a check mark next to the company file you want to hide by clicking the name of the file.
  5. Click OK to hide the company. 

Comment back, cheers.

QuickBooks Team

I created a company twice. How do I delete the duplicate company from my list on the Sign-on page.

Hi there, @tfnoon-1791-com.

 

The steps shared bygayatriluthfias20 is applicable for QuickBooks Desktop. However, based on the product tag, you're using QuickBooks Online (QBO).

 

You'll want to cancel your subscription to move the company file under the Canceled Companies section.

 

Here's how:

  1. Click the Gear icon.
  2. Select Account and Settings.
  3. Choose Billing & Subscription.
  4. In the QuickBooks section, select Cancel or Cancel your trial.
  5. Follow the steps on the screen to cancel your subscription.

 

Once done, you'll receive an email confirmation containing the cancellation details. Though, you can still reactivate your account within a year after the cancellation.


For additional insights about canceling company account, you may check out this article: 
What happens to my QuickBooks Online data after I cancel?

 

Another way of removing an accidentally created account is to transfer the admin rights to a dummy email. This way, it won't show in the same login credentials. You can refer to this article for more detailed steps: Change your QuickBooks Online master admin user.

 

Please let me know if you need further assistance. I'm just a post away. Have a great day.

Sign in for the best experience
Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of QuickBooks users.
Sign In / Sign Up

Need to get in touch?

Contact us