cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Level 1

If I cancelled my subscription and then renewed, shouldn’t my old info be gone? I want to start over.

 
5 Comments
Highlighted
Community Champion

If I cancelled my subscription and then renewed, shouldn’t my old info be gone? I want to start over.

No, you cancel and your data stays available for 365 days within which you can re-subscribe and it will be like you never left - except for no new data during your hiatus.

 

If you wish to start over with a clean slate here is my suggestion. 

1.Re-subscribe

2. Add a new company to your login

3. Cancel the company you no longer want

 

Or, with a completely different email address, start a new subscription all its own, completely unrelated - you might even be able to take advantage of some promo rates

Highlighted
Level 11

If I cancelled my subscription and then renewed, shouldn’t my old info be gone? I want to start over.

@loneprairiephs  

You don't need to resubscribe your old QBO account and purge it. Just open a NEW QBO account and click the Buy button to get the current discounted plan for up to 6 months.

https://quickbooks.grsm.io/US

https://quickbooks.grsm.io/us-promo

 

Good luck!

Highlighted
Level 1

If I cancelled my subscription and then renewed, shouldn’t my old info be gone? I want to start over.

So, that’s what I did, but it wouldn’t let me use my email address to open a new account because “it was already in use”. So then it directed me to sign in and resubscribe? 

Highlighted
Level 1

If I cancelled my subscription and then renewed, shouldn’t my old info be gone? I want to start over.

My old info shows up when I log in since I resubscribed. I don’t have an option to add a new company unless I’m missing it somewhere? 

Highlighted
QuickBooks Team

If I cancelled my subscription and then renewed, shouldn’t my old info be gone? I want to start over.

Hi there, @loneprairiephs.

 

I want to make sure able to create a new company in QuickBooks Online (QBO). Since you already re-subscribed, you have an option to purge your data, depending on the age of your account. It would be my pleasure to provide you the steps. 

 

If your books are less than 60 days old, you can delete or purge the data. Follow these steps to clear your company data. 

 

  1. Sign in to QuickBooks Online.
  2. Delete everything after the last in your browser URL and enter purgecompany.

purge.PNG

     3. Hit Yes to confirm, then click Wipe data

 

Here's an article that contains all the information about the process: Delete your data and start over.

 

However, if your company files are more than 60 days old, you're unable to purge the data. What you need to do is either manually delete the transactions or create a new company. But before doing that, I suggest canceling your old account if you will subscribe to a new subscription. To ensure you only have one subscription to pay. 

 

Here's how: 

  1. Go to this link: https://quickbooks.intuit.com/pricing/.
  2. Click Buy now for the specific version. 
  3. Enter your old email, then hit the Sign in link below User ID box.
  4. Tap Continue to create a new account or click Sign in with a different ID.

sign in.PNG

      5. Follow the on-screen instructions to complete the process.

 

For the detailed steps, check out this article: Create or add another company. 

 

Please browse this article: What happens to my QuickBooks Online data after I cancel?. You can know about the life of your QBO data after you end your subscription. Also, you'll learn more about data availability and export policies after cancellation.

 

Don't hesitate to leave a comment below if you have questions related to QBO usage. I'm always here to help. 

Need to get in touch?

Contact us