cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Intuit
220 helpful votes

How to make a customer inactive and then active

You can make a customer inactive, and then, active again at any time. Even though a customer is made inactive, they will remain on reports of transactions related to them.

What happens when I make a customer inactive?

When you make a customer inactive or delete it in QuickBooks Online, the customer is removed from the Customers area, reporting options, and any other place where customers are listed.

This is not a complete removal of their information, as you will still see their previous activity with your company in reports and their transactions will still be available for access. If you have transactions using the deleted customer, it will say Name (deleted), with the name of the inactive customer.

Make a customer inactive

Follow these steps to make a customer inactive:

  1. From the left menu, select Sales, and select Customers.
  2. Find the customer and in the Action column select Make inactive.
  3. Select Yes to confirm the request.

Make a customer active again

Follow these steps to make a customer active again:

  1. From the left menu, select Sales, and select Customers.
  2. Above the Action column, select the small gear icon, then check Include inactive.
  3. Find the customer and in the Action column, select Make Active.

Now you're able to make a customer inactive and then active again.

Was this helpful?

You must sign in to vote, reply, or post