cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Not applicable

Choose file to open

I have QB 2016 Pro Desktop version and use it for two seperate companies.  In previous versions of QB, I recall that when the program is first opened, it would give you the choice of which company to open.  Now, the program automatically opens the last company you were using before you closed the program.  If, after opening the program, I want to access the other company, I have to enter my password for the last company I opened, then go through the "File>Open Previous Company" menu operation and select the company I want to open.  Is there a setting I can change that will allow me to choose which company I want to open with the program is opened ?  Thank you.

Solved
Best answer 12-10-2018

Accepted Solutions
QuickBooks Team

We’re glad that you’re posting today garyt22! Normally, Q...

We’re glad that you’re posting today garyt22!

Normally, QuickBooks remembers the last page or last company file that was opened before a user exits. This setup is preferred by some users because it saves them a little time.

In your case, you’ll want to close the company file first before you exit so the next time you open QuickBooks, you’ll see the No Company Open page. You can do it by going to the File menu, and choosing Close Company.

Both setups are made for the benefit of all users. There's no setting for each setup.

If there’s anything else that you need, please leave a comment below.

1 Comment
QuickBooks Team

We’re glad that you’re posting today garyt22! Normally, Q...

We’re glad that you’re posting today garyt22!

Normally, QuickBooks remembers the last page or last company file that was opened before a user exits. This setup is preferred by some users because it saves them a little time.

In your case, you’ll want to close the company file first before you exit so the next time you open QuickBooks, you’ll see the No Company Open page. You can do it by going to the File menu, and choosing Close Company.

Both setups are made for the benefit of all users. There's no setting for each setup.

If there’s anything else that you need, please leave a comment below.

Need to get in touch?

Contact us