cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Level 3

How do I force the my existing QuickBooks Online company to be over-written when I export from Desktop to Online?

Summary:

When exporting from Desktop to Online, how do I tell the system to simply overwrite my previously exported data, and not to create a second, brand new QuickBooks Online company?

 

Details:

I'm in the process of moving from QuickBooks Desktop (Premier 2018)  to QuickBooks Online. I already have a paid-for QB Online subscription running, and I have already exported my QuickBooks Desktop data to a QuickBooks Online company. I'll refer to that company as Online Company A.

 

Over the past month or so I have done the export three or four times now as I test and tweak things and make sure it's all going as I'd expect. Each time I've done the export, QuickBooks Desktop has asked me to decide on where it should export to, and each time[1] I've chosen to have it simply overwrite my ONLY pre-existing QuickBooks Online company. I'll refer to it as Online Company A.

 

So far, so good. However, something changed yesterday.

 

Yesterday, when I did what I hoped would be the final export, suspiciously it did NOT ask me where to export to.  And then when the export had completed I found that it had created a brand new company; I'll call it Online Company B.

 

So I now have TWO QuickBooks Online companies: Online Company A from the first three or four exports, and then Online Company B from yesterday. Online Company A is still attached to my original pair-for QB Online subscription, but Online Company B appears to be attached to a newly-created trial subscription.

 

As a check, to see if it was just some kind of glitch, I tried the export again this morning, . This time it did ask me the "export to where?" question, which at first looked hopeful. But when I then went to choose the existing Online company I wanted to have overwritten, only Online Company B was offered to me. Online Company A, the one I've exporting to, and overwriting to, for the past month or so, was not provided as a choice at all.

 

So what I seem to be left with is this:

  1. My paid-for QuickBooks Online subscription is attached to Online Company A
  2. A new trial QuickBooks Online subscription has been created and is attached to Online Company B BUT, MOST IMPORTANT:
  3. QuickBooks Desktop no longer seems to know about Online Company A or about my paid-for QB Online subscription

The upshot is, I am now ready to do my final export of my Desktop data to my paid-for Online subscription, but it won't let me. The export mechanism doesn't even seem to know about my paid-for subscription. 

 

Can anyone offer any ideas on what is going on and how I can fix it? (I guess worst case I can just have Intuit nuke my existing paid-for subscription and then convert the new trial one into a paid-for one. However, that does seem a bit sledge-hammer-to-crack-a-nut-ish.)

 

thx!

 

[1] I say "each time" but of course that excludes the very first export ever. At that point I had no pre-existing Online company at all, so obviously on that first occasion the only option was to create a new QB Online company and so I wasn't even given the choice. But that is the exception.

 

 

Solved
Best answer 03-20-2019

Accepted Solutions
Intuit

Re: How do I force the my existing QuickBooks Online company to be over-written when I export from Desktop to Online?

Hello,

 

You can only overwrite a QBO(QuickBooks Online) company file within the first 60 days of its creation.  Once the QBO file has been open for 60 days, it cannot be purged or overwritten from scratch.

 

If you need to export your data from desktop again, you would need to start a new QBO account and export.  Or, let it create the trial account and once you verify everything is good, subscribe to that trial file.

View solution in original post

5 Comments
Intuit

Re: How do I force the my existing QuickBooks Online company to be over-written when I export from Desktop to Online?

Hello,

 

You can only overwrite a QBO(QuickBooks Online) company file within the first 60 days of its creation.  Once the QBO file has been open for 60 days, it cannot be purged or overwritten from scratch.

 

If you need to export your data from desktop again, you would need to start a new QBO account and export.  Or, let it create the trial account and once you verify everything is good, subscribe to that trial file.

View solution in original post

Level 3

Re: How do I force the my existing QuickBooks Online company to be over-written when I export from Desktop to Online?

Ah, that rings a bell. (I've been trying to get onto QB Online, so far unsuccessfully, for over two years now, and I think I bumped into that before).  Thanks!

 

Intuit

Re: How do I force the my existing QuickBooks Online company to be over-written when I export from Desktop to Online?

Very welcome.  If you have any other questions, let us know.

Level 3

Re: How do I force the my existing QuickBooks Online company to be over-written when I export from Desktop to Online?

D you know if those 60 days include the original 30 days of the trial. I've just checked and if the trial is counted, then by what looks like sheer bad luck on my part, day 60 was yesterday, the very day the option to overwrite mysteriously disappeared. So I just happened to choose to do my "final, honest and fer true" export just after the cutoff point when that was no longer allowed! 

 

Intuit

Re: How do I force the my existing QuickBooks Online company to be over-written when I export from Desktop to Online?

Hello,

 

Yes, the 60 days includes the time the account spent as a trail.  It's 60 days from the date the file is created online, regardless of the billing status of the account.

Need to get in touch?

Contact us