You'll have to login as QuickBooks admin when converting QuickBooks Online to Desktop. Make sure to use Internet Explorer as your web browser.
Please see this article for the step-by-step process: Export and convert your QuickBooks Online data to QuickBooks Desktop.
Once done, the system will automatically delete your data up to a year. This way, you can still pick up where you left off if you decide to come back.
I'll also share this article about limitations when exporting data from QBO to QBDT. Here's the link: Export limitations - QuickBooks Online to QuickBooks Desktop.
Reach out to me anytime if you have questions or concerns. I'm always here to assist you further. Thanks for joining and have a wonderful weekend.
Thank you. How can I delete the online company and data and forget exporting? I already have the data on my desktop. I was just testing the online for a day. There is no billing and subscriptions tab in my settings. I’m currently on a trial until 6/1
Thank you. I’d just like to delete the online company and data, forget exporting. I already have the data on my desktop. I was just trying the simple start for a day. There is no billing and subscription tab in my settings. I’m on a trial until 6/1. How can I delete?
Thanks for your prompt response, @songcast.
The account will automatically end or cancels after the 30-day trial ends.
Just in case you want to know, we hang on to your data for up to a year. You can come back and open your account anytime. Please take note that our core features will be disabled after the trial ends.
I'll add this link as your tool in testing QuickBooks Online: https://qbo.intuit.com/redir/testdrive_us_advanced.
Also, you can refer to this article if you decide to resubscribe: How to resubscribe or reactivate QuickBooks Online.
Please let me know if you need further questions. I'll be around to help. Have a great Saturday!
I'll clear things up concerning your query about deleting your company and data.
As my colleague, @Jovychris_A mentioned above, a canceled company's data will be available as read-only for a year, starting from the cancellation date. During this period, there isn't an option to delete the company data. It will automatically be removed from our servers as soon as the period is up. In your case, since it's a free trial, it will be available for 90 days. After that period, the company data will be deleted.
You also stated that you don't see the Billing & Subscription tab. It's either you aren't logged in as a master admin user, or you downloaded your free trial from Google Play Store/Apple Store. If it's the latter, please contact the 3rd party support (Google/Apple) to cancel your free trial.
To learn more of the situation after you cancel a QuickBooks Online company, take a look at this article: What happens to my QuickBooks Online data after I cancel? This lists the things you can do for your company file after you cancel.
Feel free to post a reply if you have other questions. I'll get back to you as soon as I can.