cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Confusing invoice layout in emails

Hello @jdbrantley and @kateherman,

 

Thank you very much for your feedback. I've been in contact with the product team in charge of this feature ever since Kate first notified me. I've spoken to their lead as well as several of their members to ensure they're very aware of your feedback. 

 

Foremost, we appreciate your sharing this publically on the community. We always strive to make a better product and this type of direct communication is exactly how we get there. Second, we very much appreciate everyone who shared their feedback directly through QuickBooks Online.

 

The product team let me know today that they are working on resolving any potential formatting issues. If you are experiencing any issues, please continue to reach out to the community so @SiyaY and the team are aware of any changes. 

We will keep everyone in the loop and get back to you soon. Thank you again.

Community Contributor *

Re: Confusing invoice layout in emails

Hey all - hallalujah - theycalled me - spent qulity time with me - they really are working on fixing it...

Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Confusing invoice layout in emails

Hey @kateherman,

 

Glad the team was able to get ahold of you. You and I will keep them on their toes!

Not applicable

Re: Confusing invoice layout in emails

That’s better than the first answer I got - just deal with it!

 

Now I hope that they can get it fixed before the 1st, since that’s when recurring invoices go out to all clients. 

AO
Frequent Explorer *

Re: Confusing invoice layout in emails

I have to agree with everyone above. If this isn't addressed soon I'll be looking to switch systems before our June 1 invoices go out. I'm embarrassed with how things look to my customers right now.

Not applicable

Re: Confusing invoice layout in emails

Just to add insult to injury the "viewed" invoiced status notification is no longer working with the new email template either, ugh. Shows all invoices viewed immediately after being sent at 4am - c'mon. QB support, can we get an update on this issue please??!

ProAdvisor

Re: Confusing invoice layout in emails

I've enjoyed reading all the comments in this thread.
Hope @SiyaY  will come back and address some of the ongoing issues again.

Give us some updates. Thanks!

Senior Explorer **

Re: Confusing invoice layout in emails

I hate the new invoice email redesign. I loathe it. And I'm very angry that QB is tampering and interfering with my business and my relations with my customers.

 

QB announced that they are rolling this out to everyone by the end of April:

https://community.intuit.com/articles/1679723

 

What makes them think this is good for my business?

Do they want to redesign my company logo while they're at it?

Are they going to start putting my cost of goods sold in the emails so my customers know my margins?

 

This new invoice email redesign is the opposite of simple and efficient, it is the antichrist of good invoice emails -- it's ugly, unprofessional, messy, confusing, lengthy, verbose. The old "classic" invoice email was simple and efficient: Invoice number, Due date, Amount due, Dear customer thanks for your business see attached invoice. Done. That's all the invoice email needs to be. Nothing else! It. Does. Not. Need. The. Kitchen. Sink.

 

I spent all day yesterday on the phone with customer service, who was surprised too by this rollout which was brute-forced on us, and said he would not be happy about it either! But he said that QB is moving forward with it and I can send my feedback to the company. I sent many feedbacks complaining about it, and asking for the option for the old "classic" invoice email layout back.

 

This is absolutely a disaster for business relations with my customers. Like my reaction when I saw this new invoice email redesign, my customers are going to react, "What is all this?! Too long, did not read."

 

What an absolute ridiculous mess. I resent that QB is brute-forcing this on us and our customers.

 

I just want the option to use the old, "classic", simple, and efficient invoice email layout.

 

Not applicable

Re: Confusing invoice layout in emails

I am having the same issue with invoice emails and very angry about it. My email format is completely different than it was a month ago and my company logo aspect ratio is stretched and ugly. The logo appears fine in the preview window when working on the template options, but awful when the email is actually sent.

 

I would prefer the same format i had previously and do not like it was changed without my knowing as it confuses clients into thinking it isn't a proper invoice email.

 

Is there a way to fix this asap? As of now I will have to manually email all my invoices as PDF attachments so my clients understand what they are getting.

Content Leader

Re: Confusing invoice layout in emails

Hello, efthomas.

 

Thanks for bringing your concerns forward here in the Community.

 

The redesigned invoice email template is optimized for iPhone, Gmail and Outlook (Mac and Windows). If your customer opens the redesigned invoice email template in another platform, the design may slightly differ. I've got an article for you that offers more information about the redesign. You can take a look at it here: https://community.intuit.com/articles/1679723.

 

If you'd like to see changes made to the current invoice email layout, I invite you to leave feedback for the Product Development Team. Your ideas and suggestions can be submitted directly through your QuickBooks account by clicking the Gear icon in the top right corner, then Feedback. Hearing about how this change has affected your use of emailed invoices helps us improve and grow.

 

Should you need any further information, please let me know.

 

 

Not applicable

Re: Confusing invoice layout in emails

Hi Morgan - 

 

The biggest issue seems to be how the invoice details are laid out in email form. 

With the column headings missing, if you include the rate (or any other numbers) as well as the product amount, it's difficult for customers to understand what the numbers represent. 

 

It also rounds rate numbers to the nearest 2 decimal points, which confuses the math even further. 

 

And when you open an email on an iphone the new layout requires SO MUCH SCROLLING to get through the invoice details.

 

I guess I just don't understand why the details need to be reduntantly included in the email when a better organized invoice is already attached for reference? 

 

The email font is also sized for children or senior citizens. It's SO BIG. 

 

I'm always up for an upgrade... I just don't feel you've provided anyone a better, more streamlined option here. 

 

Also, why is the continued response from Quickbooks for us to just deal with these changes?  There should and need to be more options for email layout. 

 

Fingers crossed there will be some follow up to these many questions and concerns.

 

Best,
Jason

Content Leader

Re: Confusing invoice layout in emails

Hey, Jason4.

 

Thank you for providing additional details about how the invoice layout is looking on your end. I hear you and can see how this recent modification has impacted you.

 

The focus of the redesign is to add more info to the body of the e-mail to allow your customers to access this information quickly, and therefore help you get paid faster.

 

We know invoices are important to our customers. These changes have been made as a response to feedback from customers who wanted consistent branding and logo across emailed invoices. This will make viewing and paying invoices even easier for your customers.

 

The best way for your voice to be heard is to leave feedback. It's my priority your concerns are addressed so I'll be sure to relay this information as well.

Community Contributor *

Re: Confusing invoice layout in emails

Whether or not the information is displayed in the email has no bearing on how quickly customers pay. 99% of my customers pay on a 30-day rotation. They don't use the information from the email. They print out the customised invoice that is attached to the email. Your team's justification for making these changes is not realistic.

 

Chris

Community Contributor *

Re: Confusing invoice layout in emails

Hi Morgan:

 

I respectfully request you all stop with the platitudes about how changes like this are in response to feedback.

 

It is totally unacceptable that we cannot control what is sent to our customers in the emails sent with invoices, etc.

 

It is imperative that an option for a simple email with NO DETAIL be made available immediately.

 

If there is a feedback page that addresses this issue directly please provide a link. I have personally tried “feedback” several times – never found it worthwhile – suggestions not acted upon and no response from QuickBooks.

 

My suggestion to you – the developers is to:
1 – do a little beta-testing with actual practitioners before implementing changes like this without warning
2 – DON’T implement change like this without warning! You caused - at a minimum – a great deal of embarrassment for MANY people who sent out invoices not knowing customers would suddenly get emails with all kinds of confusing detail in them. Bad enough I sent invoices to clients with crapped up emails – but my CLIENTS – to whom I RECOMMENDED QuickBooks – had the same experience – reflecting badly on me!!!
2 – if you add new things (like ability to open tabs in windows QBO app – nice!) try not to break things that were working just fine in the process!

 

I'd be happy beta-test.  I beta-tested the first Quckbooks Desktop ever way back in the day.  (Back in the day when accoutant input was valued by Intuit)

 

Best regards

Senior Explorer **

Re: Confusing invoice layout in emails

QB, you can say whatever justification you want for brute-forcing this drastic change that has already had certain impact on my business and relations with my customers, but the fact remains is that you gave us no option to continue our businesses as usual.

 

I've left many feedbacks, and message threads about what you have done to our businesses.

 

Say what you want about how "it's better, trust QB", or "other people want it", or "my mother thinks it's brilliant", but we're asking for TWO things:

1. Give us the option to use the old "classic" invoice email which was simple and efficient,

2. Don't ever do this to us and our businesses again without a gradual transition and the ability to continue the status quo. You hurt businesses and relations with your drastic and broad-sweeping actions.

 

I'm not looking for QB to give explanations or reasons; what QB did was a major false-step, a drastic blunder. But now I just want #1 and #2 above, that's all. From the sounds of these 4 pages long in this thread, I am far from alone.

 

Moderator

Re: Confusing invoice layout in emails

We hear your feedback and my team is taking it to heart, thank you for holding us accountable. I will ensure my team is notified about each concern raised. A common theme in this post is the ability to have an invoice email template summary rather than invoice email template with details.

 

We’re working through designs for an invoice summary email template, and can I circle back. We are working on is a more simplified invoice template, which seems to be a common request. We would really love to get your feedback for the initial beta of this new rollout. If you'd like to participate, please let me know by following the instructions below.

 

Please email [CustomFormStyles@intuit.com] (Subject Line: Invoice email template summary) and within the body of the email include:

 

1. Business Name
2. QuickBooks Online company iD

 

We look forward to hearing from you and will keep the community informed of our progress with the beta.

AO
Frequent Explorer *

Re: Confusing invoice layout in emails

@JulianC-

 

Thank you for replying and asking for input and beta testers. That's great for moving forward.

 

What I believe most of us are asking for right now is to no longer be part of the small subset of QBO users who had this update thrust upon them. Earlier in this thread there was mention of this being rolled out to some users. If you have the capability to roll out to certain users I'd hope you could also either roll us back or update us to a new version that matches the version everyone else is on. The email template prior to these changes matched our own custom templates and wasn't an embarrassment to us. Please ensure the request to roll us back is heard by the development team. I cannot wait to have a new design created, tested, and implemented. I have customers calling with complaints NOW.

 

Thank you in advance for any assistance you can provide.

Senior Explorer **

Re: Confusing invoice layout in emails


@JulianC wrote:

[snip]

A common theme in this post is the ability to have an invoice email template summary rather than invoice email template with details.

 

YES.

 

[snip]

We are working on is a more simplified invoice template, which seems to be a common request.

 

YES. GOOD. To be clear, we're all talking about the invoice EMAIL redesign. Which we despise.

 

 

[snip]

will keep the community informed of our progress with the beta.

 

 

"BETA"?!?? Since when was this "beta"? QBO went full-on brute-force production with this. 7 of my customers got these confusing new invoice Emails. I now have to convince them the invoices were really from me, since it "looks different". You have NO IDEA how much trouble you caused. I'm going on 3 days FURIOUS with QBO for doing this to my business relations with my customers.


 

AO
Frequent Explorer *

Re: Confusing invoice layout in emails

Hi there again -

 

I've noticed that this chain is no longer showing up when I directly search for it on the main Community page. There are also now more chains related to this specific topic which makes it seem like a smaller issue with less people involved and/or more recently discovered. There's also an announcement that the email template is updated for all.

 

I'm really disappointed in the response/lack of response to this issue. I cannot send out invoices with late fees as the wrong balance due displays. I cannot send out invoices that are current if a balance is carried forward as the entire invoice is so confusing to customers that it's embarrassing.

 

Even though I use Intuit for payments and payroll in addition to bookkeeping I'm now looking for another provider. I was patient with previous issues and relatively happy with the application and service I've received.

 

This change was not communicated and subsequent updates as to what's going to happen to resolve the issue are also not well communicated. I get an email for every single tax payment that's made on my behalf from Quickbooks, but I couldn't get an email regarding large changes to the only way I contact my customers on a monthly basis. This is our way to positively or negatively interact with our customers - they make impressions on us based on how you present us to them.

 

This has not been acceptable.

Senior Explorer **

Re: Confusing invoice layout in emails

Time to email out my invoices and this still hasn't been addressed or fixed by Intuit.

 

MANY OF US DO NOT WANT INVOICE LINE ITEMS IN THE EMAIL!!!

 

We don't care if you want to introduce some new, confusing, long, weird, and inefficient invoice email layout... but please, give us the option to continue to use the previous, simple, efficient invoice email layout! Or if Intuit is going to be stubborn about brute-forcing this on its customers like-it-or-not, then at least let us turn-off the line items in the new horrid invoice email layout (but we still need them in the PDF invoice attachment).

 

Not applicable

Re: Confusing invoice layout in emails

I can't believe I have to say this, but the new email template design is just AWFUL. Please revert back until a new version has been properly vetted. Thanks.

Community Contributor **

Re: Confusing invoice layout in emails

Why is my company Beta testing your software???  NOOOOOOOOO!  We do not want to test your product.  We have a business to run, and want to simply use your product without embarassing glitches.  

 

The problem:  We used to send a nice invoice email from QBO with an option to PAY NOW. The email was clean and consise.  We use custom invoice templates which is a nice feature.  The invoices were attached as a PDF to the email.  Now, all the invoice details are in the body of the email.  This is sloppy, and I can't imaging that QBO is not getting inundated with complaints.

 

The solution:  Please roll us back to the previous version and remove us from your Beta tester list.  Or, please provide a reliable option to accomplish this:

  *Allow a well formatted email with only summary info in the body of the email and the invoice itself attached as a PDF.

Not applicable

Re: Confusing invoice layout in emails

***PLEASE ADDRESS THIS ASAP! *** Has any progress on turning off this disastrous new "feature?" Our company needs to email invoices but this new format is an embarrassment. How many people need to complain about including the invoice details in the email before you do something? It looks horrible and is confusing our customers. In the future, just for kicks, please try asking a few actual users what they think before you make unsolicited change like this. You could have saved us all a lot of pain (instead of causing it). If we had only been given the opportunity, any actual experienced QBO user would have taken one look at this change and told you instantly that it would be a huge mistake. *** PLEASE ADDRESS THIS ASAP! *** This thread started in March 2018 and it has been two weeks since anything has been added . It's the end of month -- time to invoice. What's the ETA on a fix???

Not applicable

Re: Confusing invoice layout in emails

One follow-up to this -- and I hate to even mention it because Intuit will probably expect us to use this workaround rather than actually fixing the problem. But if you don't want to send QBO invoices with this embarrassing "upgrade":

1.) Email the invoice ONLY to yourself first
2.) Open the email
3.) In MS Outlook, click "Actions > Resend This Message"
4.) Delete what you don't want to include which, based on the many complaints I have seen, is primarily the invoice detail at the bottom
5.) Add the email address for your customer in the "To" field at the top
6.) Send the email to your customer

There is also one added, very satisfying bonus to this workaround: You can also delete "Powered By QuickBooks" from your email when you delete the other objectionable material in Step #4 above.  (It has always irked me that we pay Intuit a monthly fee and yet they use OUR emailed invoices for THEIR marketing. That would be standard if this was a free service. But, like when people upgrade to "premium" service on other apps, those apps should be AD FREE.)

Community Contributor **

Re: Confusing invoice layout in emails

Are you kidding?  Your answer doesn't even address the question, but rather attempts to divert and diffuse the angry users.

 

There are a lot of users, including me and my 4 companies, that are truly unhappy with the new invoicing layout.  Please don't tell us that it is "optimized" for iPhone or some such thing, and think that we will be happy with that response.  We are the ones that are using the product, and we have unhappy and confused clients.  This is not a product that a real business wants to send out to its customers.

 

Thank you.

Need to get in touch?

Contact us