cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
info937
Level 1

Can i delete all of my QBO customers and start over without affecting anything? i have not performed any transactions yet inQBO with customers. They were synced incorrect

 
3 Comments 3
JonpriL
Moderator

Can i delete all of my QBO customers and start over without affecting anything? i have not performed any transactions yet inQBO with customers. They were synced incorrect

Hi there, @info937!

 

You can make all your customers so you can start re-importing your list of customers.

  1. Go to Sales.
  2. Select Customers.
  3. Click the Tick-box beside the CUSTOMERS column.
  4. Under Batch actions, select Make inactive.

Lastly, here's a few articles you can read for ideas in managing your customers and sales transactions: Income and Expenses.

 

Keep me posted in the comments if you have any other questions. I'll be happy to help.

info937
Level 1

Can i delete all of my QBO customers and start over without affecting anything? i have not performed any transactions yet inQBO with customers. They were synced incorrect

Ok, so if i make ALLLL customers “inactive” i can re import them

correctly to qbo with the business management software i am using? 

the old software had synced into qbo and put the customer number and email address into the display name along with invoices and payment history that is irrelevant . So when i try to sync a customer from

the business management software to qbo it wont work. 

moving forward i want to have a clean and correct state without corrupted data so will

this fix my issue or am

i better off purging everything and starting a new account?

Angelyn_T
QuickBooks Team

Can i delete all of my QBO customers and start over without affecting anything? i have not performed any transactions yet inQBO with customers. They were synced incorrect

Thank you for getting back to us here on the Community page, @info937.

 

Yes, after making your customers inactive, you can import them again as suggested by my colleagues Jonpril above. However, if you want to start fresh, you can purge your data if your books are less than 60 days old. Purging of company data is only available for QuickBooks Essentials, Plus, and Advanced users.

 

Here's how:

 

  1. Sign in to QuickBooks Online as an admin
  2. Look at the URL in your browser's address bar. Delete all the text after the last / and enter purgecompany.
    • Before: https://...qbo.intuit.com/app/homepage
    • After: https://...qbo.intuit.com/app/purgecompany
  3. To confirm you want to delete your company data, type Yes.
  4. Select Wipe data.

If your books are 60 days old or older, you need to cancel your current account and start a new company to have a clean start. For your reference, check out this article: Delete your data and start over in QuickBooks Online.

 

Get back to me if you have any other questions. I'm a few clicks away to help. Have a good day!

Sign in for the best experience
Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of QuickBooks users.
Sign In / Sign Up

Need to get in touch?

Contact us