Let me share how your data is handled in QuickBooks Online, robyn20.
If you have an active subscription, your data will always be available for you to access anytime. You just need to make sure you're using the correct credentials.
If you have cancelled your subscription, you can still open your company with a read-only access data. Your data will only be available for a year right after the subscription was cancelled or expired. You can use this link for reference: Cancel your QuickBooks Online subscription or trial.
If you have a plan to resubscribe to the program, you'll have to do it within a year after the cancellation date. Otherwise, the system will completely delete your company data.
Note that you can still use the same login credentials when resubscribing or signing up for a new company.
You can always get back to us if you have additional queries regarding your data.