Community Explorer **
This widget could not be displayed.

another user has made changes to the selected transaction

Trying to invoice customer for job costs. Frequently, when in Choose Billable Time and Costs window, on tab Expenses, I try to uncheck or check a specific cost and get a pop-up that says "Another user has made changes to the selected transaction. QuickBooks will refresh the data for this transaction." Obviously, I'm using QB Desktop in multi-user mode, and this problem disappears when in single user mode. The message doesn't sound bad, "Okay, great, QB will refresh the data, good idea." But that's not what happens. Instead, you cannot do anything, have to exit trying to invoice the customer in multi-user mode and wait until you can switch to single-user mode. Or until QB decides not to do this. Because I don't see any reason why or when it does it. There can be no one else using QB and I get this error. Then later I won't.

 

QuickBooks says I can do customer transactions in multi-user mode, no restrictions. Until there are restrictions. Such as not being able to do the transaction you want to do, when you want to do it.

 

This has been wasting my time for at least 2 years, and 2 years ago I found a posting complaining of the same thing from 3 years ago (that post now "no longer available").