You can purge your data if your account aged is less than 60 days. Please keep in mind that this process only works for QuickBooks Online Plus and Essentials. The system deletes all data entered into the company, and you're unable to restore or reverse them.
To purge the data, follow the steps listed below:
Log in to your QuickBooks Online account.
Change the URL to include /purgecompany.
Example: URL shows https://qbo.intuit.com/c28/app/homepage, change to: https://qbo.intuit.com/c28/app/purgecompany.
The next screen will provide a summary of the items to be deleted.
Type the word “YES” once the data gets deleted, then click OK.
Click Wipe Data once your selections are complete.
Once the deletion is complete, you will be rerouted to your home page.
If not, you need to cancel your account, and start a new subscription.
Let me explain my problem properly.
- We have an App that was created in Quickbooks around 70 days ago.
- We have manually created multiple things such as Suppliers and Accounts which is a data that we do not want to lose.
- We then started syncing our Customers, Products, Orders, Invoices from our ecommerce Magento platform using Mageplaza third party module. However, the sync had multiple issues and we want to remove all the synced data to sync it again.
How can we achieve this?
Please share with me details about this.
QBO does not currently allow list items such as Accounts, Customers, Vendors, etc to be deleted, selecting these items with TP Deleter will not delete them from the QBO company but instead change the list item's status to INACTIVE in bulk.
The problem with changing status to inactive is that we can not sync the items again after that as it will show duplicate name entry.
This solution is not feasible.
1) If we purge company using the URL which you have shared earlier, what will happen exactly? I need you to explain this in DETAILS please.
Will I be able to login to my account again?
Will my account still have my company?
Do I have to create the company again?
what is the exact steps that we need to follow after the purge?
The reason why I am sking this is that you mentioned that after the purge we will be routed to Homepage. And you then mentioned that if not, you need to start a new subscription!
What do you mean by new subscription?
It depends on your region to utilize the purge feature. You mentioned your account is 70 days old. If your QBO region is allowed to purge it, the system will remove all data and you can start from scratch. It is why we recommend to export all of your data out to CSV/XLS to let you import some data to speed up the rework process. When the system is not allowed to purge it, you don't have any option but opening a new QBO account and import some data if required. Don't forget to cancel your old account.
purge = delete ALL data. It feels like you are opening a new QBO account for the first time. To make sure, send your email address in a private message to us. If you don't mind, you will share your credential data as Master Admin to login into your account. We may help to check whether you can purge your account or you have to purchase a new account.
Just to confirm, this will even delete my account setting? YES
How can I send a private message? Click our profile name and you may send a message. You will find our website link as well to send an email directly to our inbox.
I appreciate you for getting back to us here in the Community, @faissal.
Let me share additional information about the Purge feature in QuickBooks Online.
Purging your account will only delete the company data in the system. Your current subscription or account settings will remain, and you'll still be able to login using your credentials.
For additional reference, I've attached an article with the complete information regarding deleting data (scroll down to If your books are less than 60 days old): Delete your data and start over in QuickBooks Online.
Also, you can visit this website for some links about how to use QuickBooks Online: https://quickbooks.intuit.com/learn-support/help-articles/misc/03/help-articles-global?label=QuickBo....
If you have additional questions or concerns while working in QBO, leave a comment below. I’ll be happy to help you out.
Is it mandatory that customer name should be unique while syncing customers ?
We have customers with same name ( quite natural ) , how can we sync customers with same name ?
Can we map Email ID to the name field of customers ? will it work ? Since email ID is unique is our system .
Hi there, faissal.
I'll provide information and steps so you're able to sync or import your customer's information in QuickBooks.
Yes, when you sync or import customers in QuickBooks, it's necessary to be unique. This is because the system won't allow you to use the same information.
Currently, there's isn't an option to sync customers in QuickBooks with the same name. It won't work even if you will map the Email ID to the name field of the customers. However, I suggest putting extra characters in the customer's name to allow you to import them.
I attached a screenshot below for visual reference on how adding extra characters should look from Excel.
You can click this article to see detailed steps on how successfully import your customer's data in QuickBooks: Move your lists to QuickBooks Online. This also provides information on how you can import other lists and export them to the system.
Please check this article on how to add, delete, merge, and restore customers in QuickBooks Online: Manage your customer list.
Please know that you're always welcome to post if you have any other concerns. Wishing you and your business continued success.