QuickBooks HelpQuickBooksHelpIntuit

Delete your data and start over in QuickBooks Online

SOLVEDby QuickBooks58Updated 2 weeks ago

Learn how to delete your data in QuickBooks Online and start over with new books.

Sometimes you need to start fresh with a new QuickBooks Online company. If you're a new customer, you can purge your data and start over. If you've used QuickBooks for a while, you need to create a new company.

Start over in QuickBooks Online

Before you get started:

  • Make sure you're signed in to QuickBooks Online as an admin.
  • These steps help you delete the data for a QuickBooks Online company. If you need to delete all or some of your Intuit data, find out more about managing data or check out our privacy centre.
  • Data imported from QuickBooks Time will also be purged during this process.
  • To reuse your current lists after starting over, find out more about moving your lists to a new file.

Your next steps depend on your subscription level, and whether you've been using QuickBooks for longer than 90 days.

Tip: If you’re not sure how old your company is, sign in to QuickBooks Online. Then, refresh this page for personalised steps.

If your account has been active for more than 90 days, you can't delete the data. If you have had your QuickBooks Online account for more than 90 days, please reach out to our support team for further assistance.

Important: You can cancel your subscription and start a new QuickBooks Online account. However, you will lose any special offers or discounts you may have had on your subscription.

Follow these steps to cancel your account.

  1. Sign up for QuickBooks Online.
  2. Enter your user ID and password. You can use the same user ID and password as before.
  1. Sign in to your QuickBooks Online account.
    Note: You must be signed in as an admin.
  2. Once you're signed in, open this link. Alternatively, you can go to the URL in your browser's address bar, delete all the text and enter the following web address instead: https://app.qbo.intuit.com/app/purgecompany
  3. To confirm you want to delete your company data, type Yes.
  4. Select OK, then Wipe data.

Have any other questions for our team?

If any of your questions were left unanswered, we'd love to hear them!
Pop over to our QuickBooks Community's discussion on Intuit account management where you can ask your questions, have them answered by qualified QuickBooks Online experts, and hopefully help others with the same questions out in the process.

Was this helpful?

You must sign in to vote, reply, or post
QuickBooks Online EssentialsQuickBooks Online PlusQuickBooks Online Simple Start

Sign in now for personalized help

See articles customized for your product and join our large community of QuickBooks users.

More like this