QuickBooks HelpQuickBooksHelpIntuit

Cancel your QuickBooks Online subscription or trial

SOLVEDby QuickBooks808Updated 2 weeks ago

We're sorry to see you go. If QuickBooks Online isn't the right fit for you, we want to help you find the right tools. Here's how to cancel your subscription or trial.

If you need fewer features, or would like to try a plan with different features, consider upgrading or downgrading your plan. Need some help with QuickBooks before you decide? You can:

Cancel your QuickBooks Online subscription

The steps for cancelling QuickBooks Online depend on where you signed up for your subscription. If you signed up through a mobile app store, you’ll need to go to your app store to cancel. 

Follow the steps below based on where you bought your QuickBooks Online subscription.

  1. Open a web browser on your computer, not a mobile device.
  2. Sign in to QuickBooks Online as an admin user.
  3. Go to Settings ⚙ and select Subscriptions and billing.
  4. Note: If you don't see the Subscriptions and billing tab, then you bought QuickBooks through a mobile app store. See the steps for your device below.
  5. In the QuickBooks section, select Cancel subscription or Cancel online. If you're cancelling a trial, select Cancel trial.
  6. Follow the on-screen steps.

Cancel an account purchased online, directly from Intuit

You may follow the official steps to cancel a subscription from Google.

Note: You cannot cancel subscriptions purchased through the Google Play Store on the QuickBooks mobile app.

Cancel a suspended subscription

If your subscription is suspended, you need to resubscribe and reactivate it before you can cancel. We'll also automatically cancel your subscription after three failed attempts to charge your payment method.

Have a burning question about your subscription? Check out the FAQ section in our manage billing and subscription article.

Learn what happens to your data after you cancel

For paid and trial subscriptions, we hang on to your data for one year before deleting it. This lets you pick up where you left off if you decide to come back. When you sign in to the Company Selection page, you can view the expired files under Cancelled Companies.

Was this helpful?

You must sign in to vote, reply, or post
QuickBooks Online EssentialsQuickBooks Online PlusQuickBooks Online Simple Start

Sign in for the best experience

Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of QuickBooks users.

More like this