QuickBooks HelpQuickBooksHelpIntuit

One company listed multiple times

SOLVEDby QuickBooks57Updated 1 month ago

There are a few reasons why you might see one company listed repeatedly when signing into QuickBooks Online or QuickBooks Online Accountant.

One sign in is being used by multiple users

A quick way to tell if multiple users are using the same sign-in is to check the list of companies in the User Name column. Each name should show at least one character difference.

If there is a duplicate of the same user then you need to delete it:

  1. Go to Settings ⚙ and select Manage users.
  2. Select the dropdown for the unwanted user name, and then select Delete.

If there's another user set up under your user ID, you can set up a separate and unique user ID/password for them:

For QuickBooks Online Accountant:

  1. Sign in to QuickBooks Online account.
  2. Select the profile icon, and then select Manage your Intuit Account.
  3. Select Sign in & security.
  4. Select the User ID row.
  5. Enter the new User ID and current Password, and then select Save.
  6. Select the Email address row.
  7. Enter and confirm the correct email address, and select Save.
  8. Select the Password row.
  9. Enter and confirm the new password.
  10. Select Save.

For QuickBooks Online:

  1. Select the profile icon, and then select Manage your Intuit Account.
  2. Select Sign in & security.
  3. Select the User ID row.
  4. Enter the new User ID and current password, and then select Save.
  5. Select the Email address row.
  6. Enter and confirm the correct email address, and select Save.
  7. Select the Password row.
  8. Enter and confirm the new password.
  9. Select Save.

Multiple Intuit products are tied to a single company

If you've signed up for multiple Intuit products, you will see multiple companies when you log in. If you use multiple Intuit products or services for a single company, you may see your company name appear more than once in the list.

The same company has been accidentally set up more than once

The only way to tell is to access each company and compare information such as recent sales, bills, and bank register. If it turns out one of the companies is an unwanted duplicate, you can cancel the subscription:

For QuickBooks Online Accountant:

  1. Sign in to your QuickBooks Online account.
  2. Go to Settings ⚙ and select Subscriptions and billing.
  3. Go to the Billing details tab, and select the Cancel Subscription link.
  4. Follow the on-screen prompts.

For QuickBooks Online:

  1. Go to Settings ⚙ and select Account and Settings.
  2. Go to the Billing & subscription tab.
  3. Select Cancel trial/Cancel subscription.
  4. Follow the on-screen prompts.
Note: Your unsubscribed company will appear under Canceled Companies until it is deleted.

You have been added to another company file in error

You can also have access to another company file if you have been accidentally added as a user. If you believe that you shouldn't have access to that company file:

  1. Go to Settings ⚙.
  2. Select Manage Users (for QuickBooks Online) or Your Team (for Accountants).

On this page, you can see who the Primary Administrator is, as well as their email address. You can contact the Primary Administrator to find out why you have been added as a user to the file, and request to get removed if required.

Was this helpful?

You must sign in to vote, reply, or post
QuickBooks Online AdvancedQuickBooks Online EssentialsQuickBooks Online PlusQuickBooks Online Simple Start

Sign in for the best experience

Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of QuickBooks users.

More like this