QuickBooks HelpQuickBooksHelpIntuit

Add and manage users in QuickBooks Online

SOLVEDby QuickBooks4337Updated December 08, 2023

Learn how to add, manage, or delete user profiles in QuickBooks Online.

Add users to help with company operations and bookkeeping. You can customize each role and give individual permissions for specific tasks. You can also give your accountant access to your company’s books.

Note: Only users with the right permissions can manage user profiles in QuickBooks Online. If you need to, here's how to change the primary admin for your company.

Add a new user

When you add a user, your subscription level determines how many users you can add. Certain roles don't count toward your user limit, like Reports or Time tracking only.

  1. Select Settings ⚙, then select Manage users.
  2. Select Add user, then enter the user’s name and email address.
    Note: Special characters aren’t allowed other than a period on the user’s name. For the email field, you can use a period and the @ character.
  3. Select the Roles ▼ dropdown, then select the role you want to assign to the user.
  4. Review the features this role gives access to. You can expand each section.
  5. Select the Account management settings you want to manage (if applicable for the chosen role).
  6. Select Send invitation.

New users receive an invite to join the company. Ask them to select the Let’s go! link in the email. They can create a new Intuit Account or just sign in if they already have one.

Manage user roles or permissions

  1. Select Settings ⚙, then select Manage users.
  2. Find the user you want to edit, then select Edit in the Action column.
    • You can change the user role from the Roles ▼ dropdown.
    • You can't edit the Time tracking only roles. Instead, delete them, then add them again with the correct role.
  3. Select the account management settings you want to manage.
  4. Select Save.

Ask the user to sign out then sign back into QuickBooks Online to see the updates. If you have QuickBooks Online Advanced, here's how to manage user access.

Delete a user

Once you delete a user, it’ll be permanent, though you can still view their history in the audit log.

  1. Go to Settings ⚙, then select Manage users.
  2. Select the ellipsis icon on the user you want to delete, then select Delete.
  3. Select Delete user from the pop-up window to confirm.

Was this helpful?

You must sign in to vote, reply, or post
QuickBooks Online AdvancedQuickBooks Online EssentialsQuickBooks Online PlusQuickBooks Online Simple Start

Sign in for the best experience

Ask questions, get answers, and join our large community of QuickBooks users.

More like this