cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Intuit

How to delete an account or restore a deleted account

QuickBooks Online lets you make accounts inactive, especially those that are no longer in use.

While you can’t completely delete an account already used in transactions, making it inactive ensures your transactions are intact, and your reports unchanged. You can restore inactive accounts anytime.

What happens to inactive accounts

Inactive accounts are removed from the Chart of Accounts and other places where you can choose accounts. If the account contains transactions, they remain as part of your company data. You can find them through reports (the accounts are listed as “Inactive”).

Note: There are special and default accounts created by QuickBooks according to your company preferences. You can’t make these accounts inactive. Learn how to deal with these accounts if they’re no longer in use.

 

Make an account inactive

  1. Select the Gear icon on the Toolbar.
  2. Under Your Company, choose Chart of Accounts.
  3. Find the account you want to delete.
  4. Select the drop-down in the Action column, then choose Make Inactive.
  5. Select Yes to confirm.

Restore an inactive account

  1. Select the Gear icon on the Toolbar.
  2. Under Your Company, choose Chart of Accounts.
  3. Above the Action column, select the small gear icon, then check Include inactive.
  4. Find the account you want to make active again.
  5. Select Make active.

Delete bank transactions

Making an account inactive doesn't automatically remove its transactions. They remain in the company file and you can still access them through reports. To completely remove transaction data, you have to delete all of them.

Currently, you can only delete one transaction at a time in QuickBooks Online. Perform these steps on all transactions that needs to be deleted.

  1. Select the Gear icon on the Toolbar.
  2. Under Your Company, choose Chart of Accounts.
  3. Find the account you want to delete.
  4. In the Action column, select View register/Account History.
  5. Choose a transaction, then select Delete.
  6. Select Yes to confirm.

Error: Account used by a product or service

If you received the error "This account cannot be deleted because it is used by a product or service," you need to either change the account for the product or service, or delete the product or service (if no longer needed).

To change the account associated with a product or service:

  1. Select the Gear icon on the Toolbar.
  2. Under Lists, choose Products and Services.
  3. Find the item. In the Action column, choose Edit.
  4. To apply the change to already entered transactions, check Also update this account in historical transactions.
    Note: The option to apply a change retroactively only appears the moment users select the new/different account.